Leopard on Dual G4 Powermac @ 1680x1050??

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by crontab, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. crontab macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #1
    I have never owned a Mac and want to try out Leopard. With money being tight these days, I have been looking at craigslist and ebay to buy a used Dual G4 Powermac.

    I know the minimum requirements are a 867MHz G4 but what about when running with dual cpus?

    I want to make sure that whatever I buy runs Leopard and does easy tasks like email and web surfing. So I guess I am looking for best performance for least cash while still getting to try out latest OS.

    Also, I have a 1680x1050 LCD monitor that I want to use at native resolution via DVI. Will this be possible with the video cards Apple used in these older powermacs?

    Thanks for any insights and recommendations.
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Sensible no sense wasting all kinds of money on something you may not like.
    Not certain but would think it applies there as well better off getting above it anyways, with my dual 1.42ghz machine it can take a few seconds to open a program so the faster the better IMHO.
    Other than taking a few seconds to open programs as I said mine runs it fairly quickly I would say try for something dual 1ghz range if you can afford/find it.

    I would look at Every Mac to see what they say the maximum resolution is for the card included but I am pretty sure that you can get up to the 1920x1200 for it that is what I get on my Radeon 9000 I think GeForce 2 can do that as well.

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/index-powermac-g4.html

    Your welcome.
     
  3. crontab thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #3
    Just curious, are you running with the max 2GB of ram as well?
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Only 1gb until hopefully later this week when my other two sticks arrive. Just put in a 9700 Pro I flashed with a Mac rom today worked great first try and even shows up as a 9800 Pro which is another nice bonus.
     
  5. leighonigar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #5
    We have a G4 MDD single 1.25GHz. It runs leopard fine for normal things. It's not as swift as my mini but the G4 also has a lot less RAM! I think you'll be fine.
     
  6. crontab thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #6
    Cool. Maybe with more ram it will be a little more responsive. Please let us know after you get upgraded.

    I have a Radeon 9600XT laying around. Would I be able to flash it and use it as an upgrade over the Radeon 9000? I'm googling right now but am not finding much specific to the 9600XT.
     
  7. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    The link below just mentions 9600 you may want to Google on flashing 9600 to XT or similar. I would imagine they should be able to be flashed with the others BIOS as most times that is all the difference is/was with them older cards.

    http://themacelite.wikispaces.com/A...esponseToken=16030ba98bdb2facd04927f2dd573387

    Then for the BIOS's I got mine here which now that I looked at it again does have 9600XT there so you could be good to go.

    http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2

    Just make sure to do the 3 & 11 pin mod if necessary it is shown a little way down the page.

    http://thomas.perrier.name/otherStuff/ati9800convertEN.html
     

Share This Page