Leopard on G4

scotthayes

macrumors 68000
Jun 6, 2007
Birmingham, England
Planning installing it on my 1.42ghz mini tomorrow night. CPU wise it should be OK, but think I may need to up the memory as it's only got 512MB.

Will let you know what it is like.

Comment

MacDonaldsd

macrumors 65816
Sep 8, 2005
London , UK
Yeah im waiting to find out, as I have a PowerBook G4 1.33 GHz, 256MB RAM.

Im a student developer so I have to wait for them to send me a copy of leopard, which won't be for a few weeks, so im sure a lot of people would have done it before me.

Comment

The Man

macrumors 6502
Jul 7, 2004
Desperately need this info too. I have a 1 GHz iBook with 1.12 GB RAM. It should do, but I am afraid it is going to eat up RAM and processor power. Plus I do some video editing now and then. Still, can't... resist... temptation... must... upgrade... want to see Leopard... on my iBook.

Also, I still use some old apps, like the now dead (and swallowed up by Microblob) Creature House Expression and Canvas 8. They work fine under Tiger, mostly. But I'm afraid Leopard is going to break them. I can't live without these apps, for now. I will probably start a new thread on this, about Leopard and old apps.

Comment

stekerrod

macrumors regular
Nov 10, 2006
Macclesfield/Salford England
im going to be installing it on my iBook which is a 1.42GHz G4 and ive upgraded it to 1.5GB of ram so im hoping it will run quite nicely on it......it's also going to be installed on a G4 iMac which has a 1GHz G4 and 512MB of ram.....it's only used for internet surfing and word in it's semi retirement so it should be fine!

Comment

MacDonaldsd

macrumors 65816
Sep 8, 2005
London , UK