Leopard on G4

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TopGear300, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. TopGear300 macrumors regular

    TopGear300

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #1
    hi I have a :apple: G4 1.33 iBook with 512 of memory. I would like to put leopard on this computer as well but have a hunch it will probablly make my computer slower? What do you guys think?

    Thanks for the help! :D
     
  2. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #2
    That's what I using right now!


    But its been a while since I used Tiger on this guy, but I don't recall a massive slow down when I made the jump. If you have the funds, more RAM would be nice, but over all you should be ok with the system as it is.
     
  3. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #3
    If you increase the RAM it should be doable. I installed Leopard on my girlfriend's iBook (1.0 GHz 1.2 MB RAM) and she's happy with it.

    She uses Firefox and was happy to be able to install the zippier version 3.
     
  4. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #4
    10.5 runs fine on G4 PBs, Aluminum (1.5Ghz, 1G RAM) and Titanium (867mhz, 768 Mb RAM). These machines have not seen Tiger, but Leopard runs faster than the systems either machine had originally shipped with (10.3 and 10.2, respectively).
     
  5. TopGear300 thread starter macrumors regular

    TopGear300

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007

Share This Page