Leopard on my mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rhys105, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. rhys105 macrumors regular

    rhys105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    #1
    When i buy leopard on the 26th :)D), i want to install it on my mac mini. i have 18gb of space left on my mac, how would i wipe tiger off and keep my files so that leopard can run more quickly?
     
  2. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    use the archive and install option on the Leopard installer
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    that is correct, but he might not have enough space
     
  4. noway macrumors regular

    noway

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #4
    It is better to do that (Archive and install) or to Erase and install Leopard?

    I have quite a lot o things but everything is on my backup external hd. Plus i have XP in order to use AutoCAD on my macbook pro.

    My idea was to clean install leopard (im a freak of perfection, thats why i use macs) then install every app i want to reinstall (i kept all installers too) and XP for autocad 2008.

    Any thoughts?



    EDIT:
    Decision taken after reading a couple threads on this... Fresh install it is!!
     
  5. noway macrumors regular

    noway

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #5
    will me apps of tiger run on leopard?
    for instance: Cocktail (although i dont think leopard needs it), TechTool Pro 4, VLC, Flip4Mac WMV, Adium, Cabos, NeoOffice...

    Oh and if it can help, i plan to do a fresh (clean) install...
     

Share This Page