Leopard on older g5 machine.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by w.t.f, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. w.t.f macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering if Leopard would run really slow on my Imac g5 2 GHz with only 512 MB ram?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Get more RAM.

    It runs great an iMac G5 1.6 GHz I have in a lab.
     
  3. w.t.f thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #3
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I don't think 3 screws is challenging. :D
     
  5. adamfishercox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #5
    One thing that is never hard to replace (the exception being the Mac Mini) is RAM. Just pop off the screws, pop it in, and screw the plate back on.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Don't forget it's an iMac G5.
     
  7. adamfishercox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #7
    Ah,thought it was the iSight model. Well, then. Take off the 3 screws, pop th entire back off, ground yourself by touching the metal part with the exclamation point on it, then pop the existing ram out, put the new in, then put the back back on and voila!
     
  8. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #8
    After the update to 10.5.1, runs great on my 1GHz G4 iBook with 768Megs, the same for my 1.66 CD Mini with 512Megs...
     
  9. w.t.f thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #9
    Thanks for the help, lol, sorry I'm such a noob.
     

Share This Page