Leopard on two macs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zepharus, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    I purchased a retail copy of Vista for my PC and was able to install this on a second computer by calling Microcrap and activating over the phone. I simply told them that my HD crashed and I needed to reinstall... VOILA Vista on 2 computers. I dont really need to hear anything about piracy or dishonesty either. I feel that if I payed for a copy of software, I should be able to use this on anything that I will use. I dont sell it or share it so please...


    My main question is will a senario like this be possible with Leopard? Please just let me know if I can install it on my MBP and my familes iMac... thanks in advance.
     
  2. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    if you don't buy the family pack, Steve Jobs will bust your door down using Bill Gates as a battering ram, and then he will make Bill eat your Leopard DVD

    Thus, it is possible, but ill-advised.
     
  3. emac82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    #3
    It's true. I saw it on YouTube.
     
  4. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    You can do it but it wont be the legal way to go about it.
    The legal way would be buying a family pack even though you may not need to instal it on 5 machines.
     
  5. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    there is no copy protection on apple's os's so yes you can, even though its "illegal"
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    What were you drinking/smoking that night. :eek:
     
  7. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #7
    I understand the legality of the issue. However legal and moral issue aside, this can be done in the same manner? I ask because it will be my first attempt at an OS X install, being a recent switcher....
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    dude i just answered your question
     
  9. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #9
    yes it can be done
     
  10. emac82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    #10
    LOL!!

    I wouldn't be surprised it was on YouTube though...lol
     
  11. vanmacguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Not where you live.
    #11
    Certainly in the Microcrap world you are allowed to install to a desktop and a laptop. On the understanding that you only use one of them at a time.

    Riiiiight...

    I believe (and I think I'm right here because this been covered on here before) that the same does not apply to OS X. The EULA is different.

    If your question is, is it possible to install it on two machines? Then the answer is that it was with Tiger but I don't know about Leopard.

    Cheers.
     
  12. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #12
    steve's going to let loose the finder on you.
     
  13. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #13
    is it really "illegal"? sure you would be breaking the terms of service, EULA or whatever it is called....but are you breaking a law? i don't think so.
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    You are breaking civil law (contract) not criminal.
     
  15. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #15
    It's a reasonable price for the family pack, much more reasonable than the TOTAL VISTA package, whatever that is.

    Suck it up and pay the difference and know that you've done the "right thing".

    $129 vs $199 for an extra 4 machines?? No brainer, IMO.

    Plus, you'll be covered for years with Apple, if you do things the "right way".
     
  16. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #16
    cmon man dont go all jimmine cricket on me. I have been VERY good to apple this year (mbp iMac Touch and about $500 in software) surely they can throw me a bone here
     
  17. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #17
    so then what's an extra $ 70 ? Obviously you can afford it.
     
  18. emac82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    #18
    Yeah, I buy a lot of Doritos, so that means it's okay for me to "steal" a bag every once in awhile right??
     
  19. CTYankee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #19
    You can also just go to any store and grab a copy off the shelf and walk out. When they stop you just tell them you bought so much Mac stuff they owe it to you. I mean, not much different than what you are doing by installing it on more than one machine.

    The price to do it legally is $70. Is your integrity worth less than that? If so, thats a shame.
     
  20. Dybbuk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #20
    Macrumors.com Moral Patrol - The answer to a question that nobody asked.
     
  21. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #21
    No Jiminy Crix here. Remember, I have a Hackintos desktop machine, so I know where you're coming from.

    BUT that Hackintosh got me to buy a Macbook, and the OS got a few friends to switch. The OS itself is dead cheap for what you're getting, and the family license is a downright steal.

    I understand that you've spent money, and probably money that didn't need to be spent ;) but that's all part of switching over. MS charges money, too. So do 3rd party developers, on each platform.

    Choose where and what to spend the money on. For me, it's on the OS. Wasn't always that way, but now it is.
     
  22. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #22
    So, while I both understand your point of view and the perspective of others who have commented regarding buying the family pack, I don't think your question has been quite answered, and it should be.

    So, your main question is will a scenario like this be possible with Leopard, right? If Apple continues in the same tradition that they've had for decades, the answer is no, a scenario like that will not be possible. However, neither will a scenario like that be necessary. Apple, to date, has never had the level of ridiculous copy protection that MS has on their respective OSes. In short, again assuming that Apple continues in the tradition that they've followed here-to-fore, you will simply be able to put the disk in and install the OS on as many machines as you want.

    It's down to your conscience as to how you feel about doing that...
     
  23. thebassoonist macrumors 6502a

    thebassoonist

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #23
    Yes, you can, legally. The only thing is that you can't run both machines at once. You can put any single user software on any number of computers... but only have one machine running the software at a time.

    (Psst... I don't think that there's a way they can find out if two computers are running the same program, but... keep it legal!)
     
  24. russell.h macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #24
    People around here don't spend much time reading Hobbes do they. Thats not a question really.
     
  25. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    This is not true, it depends on the user agreement. I believe the OSX agreement stipulates that it can be installed on only one machine (for the single-user version). For another example, the Adobe agreement stipulates that CS2 can be installed on a desktop and a laptop. Names aren't legally binding, contracts are.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page