Leopard Password! What the Bleep!?!?!?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dissecta, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Dissecta macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #1
    Just installed Leopard.

    Finished

    MBP reboots and comes up with a password screen (I usually have the machine set to boot straight in).

    Type in my password (the one I used to confirm I wanted to install...) rejects it.

    Click forgot password, comes up with the hint for the password I just typed.

    Type again rejects it.

    Type really carefully.

    Rejects it.

    What the heck is going on?

    I'm trying an archive and install now to see if that'll work.

    If it happens again what can I do? I'm the only user on the machine.

    Anyone else had weird password issues (I remember having some similar after a Jaguar patch on my old Powerbook.)
     
  2. Hobofuzz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #2
    Use the Password Reset Utility on the Leopard DVD.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    You can use the Leopard disk to reset the pw, it is in one of the menus.
     
  4. Dissecta thread starter macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    OK reset the password using the utility on the disk.

    Twice.

    And it still rejects it.

    I even made the password hint the password.

    As in the utterly Dumb "Password1" is the both the password and the hint.

    This is utterly insane.

    Any ideas or do I try to reinstall Tiger?

    What next format the disk and start again.

    All my important folders were saved to my external hard disk but I didn't back up mail or my bookmarks.

    Thankfully a lot of other stuff is still on my old powerbook.

    OK it's now let me log in as Sys Admin....
     
  5. Dissecta thread starter macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #6
    Nope... I wish.

    It seems to be some kind of permission issue with my account.

    It won't seem to either accept the original password or let me reset it.

    Can I just create a new account and the copy/paste across all the data from the old account (such as mail boxes etc) into a new account and then delete the old one?
     
  6. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #7
    I heard a rumour that people were having a problem when using passwords longer than 8 letters. Perhaps try a shorter password and see if this works!?
     
  7. Dissecta thread starter macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #8
    mmm there an update that came in for that...

    Still doesn't work.

    I'm going to copy across files then drop the old account my External disk then nuke it on the Mac.
     
  8. Dissecta thread starter macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #9
    Is there anyway I can globally set the permissions on a hierarchy of folders?

    I really don't fancy having to work my way through all folders allowing me permission to them...

    Worked it out... It's been two years since I took my Panther Course
     
  9. apple_iBoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10
    To the OP:

    You are not alone, my friend. The exact same thing happened to mee

    Fortunately, I was able to log into a second Admin level account on the machine and reset my main account's password from the System Preferences there. Of course, I had to type the old "incorrect" password to change it, but oddly enough, it was accepted at that point. No problems since then.
     
  10. Dissecta thread starter macrumors member

    Dissecta

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #11
    Wouldn't work for me, I'm afraid.

    Never mind I have created a new account and copied across all data.

    Had to reset the permission etc for the copied folders and had to import my address book from my old Mac.

    slowly getting there.

    I'm still getting an error in iPhoto that it can't save changes and to check if there is space on the Hard Disk or Permissions... But I have read and write access to the pictures folder and have applied that to all folders under it.
     

Share This Page