Leopard Password?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Justamar, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. Justamar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #1
    So i bought a macbook from this guy for 500 bucks, and it works fine, but the only thing is that he did not give me a password, so i need to install Leopard on it but there only thing is that it asks me for a password, is there anyway to bypass this?
     
  2. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #2
    i assume your trying to do an upgrade ot leopard?

    I suggest you just erase and install... for the guys privacy and it's the most user-friendly way to fix this problem.

    Whoever you bought this computer from must be an idiot... because all it would take is a little terminal skill, and knowing what your doing and you could hack into his account, and access all his data.

    But thats unethical.. so insert your leopard dvd.. and hold the C key while pressing the power button (to start up your mac)

    after its done loading, just go throuhg installation process except choose "Erase and Install"

    Unless im mistaken you wont need a password.

    Otherwise you are going to have to wait for an experiences Unix user comes around and gives you instructions on how to "hack" into it.
     
  3. Justamar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #3
    haha ok thanks i got it to work, the only problem is that OS X 10.4 gives me a lot of errors network wise. but when i insert the CD that i got with my new macbook i get an error " This is cannont be used" then it quits. anyway to fix?
     
  4. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    sorry but as you may have noticed, disks that you get with a computer will only work on that line of computers, that exact specifications and that exact generation/revision. You might just need to buy a leopard install disk, and install leopard from there.
     
  5. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #5
    Duff-Man says...in addition to what has already been said, having a 10.5 install disc for your other Macbook does *not* entitle you to install it wherever you please - read the license agreement that came with it....oh yeah!
     

Share This Page