Leopard pre-installed, with only Boot camp Beta

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TomMac9998, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. TomMac9998 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Wales
    #1
    Right,
    I bought my new MacBook 2.2GHz late November 07, with Leopard pre-installed.
    It's only now that I'm bothering with using boot camp and installing windows xp (I have the disc, so I thought i'd try it)

    However, when i go to launch boot camp assistant, i just get one message which says "Boot Camp Assistant Beta has now expired" and a "Quit" button - there's nothing else I can do :S

    Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can fix this?

    Thanks!

    Tom
     
  2. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #2
    Something fishy here. I bought my wife's MacBook 2.2 before Thxgiving as an early xMass present and the bootcamp was NOT beta.

    Leopard marked the final release of boot camp and the bootcamp on the leopard disk is NOT beta.

    Sounds like someone downloaded bootcamp rather than install it from the disk. Remove the bootcamp or just run the bootcamp installer from the leopard install dvd.
     
  3. TomMac9998 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    back up disc?

    I don't have the leopard dvd, i bought the macbook from apple, with leopard pre-installed.
    would it be worth fishing out the restore dvds (or whatever they're called) which came with my mb?
    also, how would i find the boot camp installer on the disc?

    thanks, :)
     
  4. SVT Amateur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    #4
    You launched the Boot Camp Assistant under Applications/Utilities?
     
  5. TomMac9998 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    Yes, i did

    :)
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    You have your restore disks, that will suffice

    You can reinstall bootcamp from them. It's in the optional software bundle.
     
  7. TomMac9998 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Wales
    #7
    Okay, thanks!
    I'll search for the discs, then give it a go!

    Tom
     

Share This Page