Leopard Retail dvds

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MacHappytjg, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    leopard retail dvds work on g4 g5 and intel core duo 1 right i just wanna be sure
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    All Leopard discs are Universal. The operating system will run on any PowerPC 74xx, PowerPC 970, and Intel based Mac.
     
  3. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    what do u mean by the 74xx and 970?
     
  4. rolex54 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    i dont know what he means either, but the leopard discs will work on all G4 G5 and intel processors, just make sure the computers meet the minimum spec
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    There are several G3 (PowerPC 750) based machines that can be upgraded with a G4 (PowerPC 74xx) processor. Although these computers started off as a G3, Leopard can be installed on them as long as they have a G4 processor. You don't even need to meet the required clock speed either to install Leopard.

    There are several workarounds that range form editing the installer disc, just imaging the hard drive using ASR or NetRestore, cloning hard disks, or using Target Disk Mode to trick the installer that the target volume is on the faster Mac.

    Not to mention that that machine specific grey discs are Universal and Drop-In Leopard DVD as well.

    Keep in mind that system imaging to circumvent Leopard requirements is possible and legal. (Remember to have your licenses) Just don't expect much support from Apple even if they provide the tools and documentation to do so. If you don't have Mac OS X Server for Netboot/Install then NetRestore works in a pinch.
     
  6. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #6
    ah icic i want my emac to have leopard like my macbook cause its seems wierd using os 10.4 and os 10.5 but yea ithink i know what u mean cause i saw leopard on a emac g4 700mhz
     

Share This Page