Leopard run in fusion/parallelles?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by brianj, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. brianj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    Im a member of the ADC and I was wondering, how can I test leopard without making it my main operating system?

    Can it be run in fusion/parallelles?

    Best regards
    Brian
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    No idea. As for not making it your main OS just install it on a second drive and switch startup drives.
     
  3. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    wont go on paralels/fusion, you would just have to install it on an external (or 1nd internal) and hold alt for book loader (or change startup disk in system prefs)
     
  4. mahonmeister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Redlands, CA
    #4
    Apple has chosen not to let there OS run in a virtual machine:

    Quoted from here.

    You could also partition your HDD and install Leopard there, as far as I know.
     
  5. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    I'm pretty sure Parallels/Fusion is only for operating systems OTHER than OSX.
     
  6. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    I have tried it a few times, it won't work in VMware or Parallels. When you point it to the ISO (I converted the DMG to ISO) it won't boot off it. It just doesn't see it at all. Same thing with a burned DVD of it.

    From what I hear as well, Leopard has taken some extra steps to not run on non-apple hardware.
     

Share This Page