Leopard: Slow boot and shut down times

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lazymej, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. lazymej macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #1
    Well by all means the Leopard boot and shut down times are not SLOW, but I found that Tiger was so so so much faster at this. Is it just me or do you guys have this too?
     
  2. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #2
    How long have you had the system installed? could it still be indexing for Spotlight? Do you shutdown often after brief up-times? is there an external drive attached that could be getting a Time Machine backup in progress that has to complete the current process before shutting down?
     
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    Do you have any leftover apps from Tiger that are set to start at boot but may not be working properly? My Last.fm client was set to start at boot, and as it turns out it won't run in Leopard, so it was hanging the system for awhile when it was booting up.
     
  4. vega07 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #4
    I have very fast boot up and shut down times. I think even faster than Tiger. Try a reinstall.
     
  5. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #5
    What is this, Windows? Don't waste time with a reinstall, that's a last resort. That is bad, lazy advice.
     
  6. benlee macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #6
    I find that my startup seems a little bit slower sometimes. But my Tiger boots varied, randomly. And in Tiger sometime it would take a little bit to load the menu bar. In Leopard its almost instant.
    My Leopard shutdown time seem way faster.

    Don't do a reinstall. That is not likely to fix anything with boot times unless there is some sort of conflict.

    Go with the other advice on this page and see if that helps.
     
  7. lazymej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #7
    hmm ya I'm thinking that there's some iffy stuff left over since I upgraded. When I was running Tiger my MBP would boot up and shut down like lightning. Restarts weren't an inconvenience whatsoever. But now with Leopard it takes several seconds longer. When shutting down the screen goes black for like just under 10 seconds before actually switching off. Tiger was instantaneous.

    So I guess you aren't having this problem then..
     
  8. donmakaveli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #8
    leopards slow boot up

    I got a macbook pro 2.4ghz 15 inch model one of the best specs out and i still find that leopard boots alot slower then tiger did. Tiger used to load fast on my macbook pro but not as fast as it did on my imac which as of a 2.16ghz spec. That i dont understand why? Although the leopard issue seems to be a common problem hopefully a software update should cure it.
     
  9. CEBEP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #9
    Hi guys,

    I have MacBook and Leopard installed from the very beginning. Everything was fine until I have installed the RAID software from my 1TB WesternDigital hard drive. At least as of that day my Mac stated to boot much slower.

    I see the dock appearing almost immediately but it will take a minute or so for the menu to appear.

    Anybody can suggest? Is there something like a start menu in Mac so I can see what is launching and slows/freezes up the boot?
     
  10. goranius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #10
    I'm experiencing the EXACT same thing! I have a 2,6GHz MBP for crying out loud...
    It's driving me crazy!!!
     
  11. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #11
    topic on blue screen

    Someone started a thread about how long the blue screen lasts at boot up. Mine was less then 4 seconds until I went from 2 to 4 gigs of ram. What Tiger does to that ram at boot up is beyond me, but perhaps with more ram and external hard drives; it just takes takes more time to do what needs to be done. :confused:
     
  12. ying yang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #12
    I had horrible boot and shutdown times after upgrading to Leopard. I also got the beachball seemingly every five minutes while using Finder, iTunes, safari, pretty much anything, especially since updating to 10.5.1.

    Today, I backed up my stuff and did a completely clean Leopard install. The difference is amazing. It feels like Tiger again. Fast as hell to boot and shutdown, and "snappy" as heck otherwise. It's excellent. I thought the "do a clean install" thing was ******** but apparently it makes a huge difference, at least to me.
     
  13. CEBEP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #13


    After clean install is everyrthing is ereased? Or programs/files remain?
     
  14. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #14
    If you do the Archive and Install; it is clean and everything remains...
     
  15. CEBEP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #15
    but will Archive and Install solve the problem?
     
  16. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #16
    Archive and Install is a clean install that keeps your current settings. If the problem lingers then you can do a totally clean install to see if that helps...
     
  17. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #17
    Leopards ALOT slower to boot and shut down for me, my girlfriends macbook (2ghz, 1gb ram etc) smokes my imac (2ghz, 1gb ram etc) on both shut down and boot up times, tempted to do a archive and install to see if that'll fix it.
     
  18. KurtangleTN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #18
    I noticed this slightly too, my startup times are good but were better in Tiger.

    I only have the upgrade disk from Apple, are there any other solutions?
     
  19. cheezebob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #19
    mine was very slow to shut down, but then i uninstalled iStat pro and it goes much faster
     
  20. CEBEP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #20
    thanks, Archive and install solved the problem. though after reinstall my MacBook did not accept my password and I had to reset it :)
     
  21. vrillusions macrumors regular

    vrillusions

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio, US
    #21
    I've found that while startup is fine, shutdown takes FOREVER. I look at the console logs afterwards and it's just 2-3 minutes of nothing. It could be something running that leopard doesn't like but I've checked that all my start on login items are fine, and I've tried starting up and immediately shutting down again and it still takes a couple minutes for it to shut down.

    I did an upgrade from tiger which I've heard a lot of people having issues with (going from panther to tiger was fine). Even tried cleaning out disk space to see if that would help and nothing.

    btw, the people that say startup is slow after a system update, that's because os x clears all it's caches after it does a big system update (and maybe after some security patches). So the first time it boots up it has to regenerate all those caches again. That's why programs will take a long to startup as well. There's a reason they tell you to keep PLENTY of free space on OS X.
     
  22. jonyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ypres, Belgium
    #22
    possible solution

    I did a comple of test i have a macbook pro and i run dual boot windows & mac os x leopart. if I eject my window dics and quit (command - Q ) Finder. My macbook pro shutdowns istinsly. if i dont do this it takes a big minute do shutdown.

    To quit your finder you have to type something in in your terminal to enable this !!!!

    To get full control over your Finder application, you can add a Quit menupoint to your Finder if you type this into Terminal:
    defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem -bool yes

    so 2 steps:
    Eject your windows Disk on your desktop.
    Quit your finder (command - Q)

    hit the power punten en klik shutdown or restart ;)

    have fun at trying this.:)

    my notebook pro is a month old so leopart was running from the beginning.
     
  23. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    this sadly didn't fix it for me, any other ideas?
     
  24. jonyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ypres, Belgium
    #24
    It does't work all the time i don't know why maybe you have to quit finder a comple times by command - q it a few times.

    grtz jony
     
  25. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    hi, i called apple, and they had no idea...


    ...so i played around with a few things, and fixed the problem.

    i have EyeTV running, and i had turned on that thing where you can watch your eyetv stuff on your iPhone; well, i turned this function totally off.

    i also removed Folding@home (i doubt this is a factor)

    anyway, my mac now turns off in 6 seconds, thats an improvement on the previous 50 seconds!!
     

Share This Page