Leopard started malfunctioning

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by garirry, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #1
    iMac G4: 1.25GHZ - 1.5GB RAM - 10.5.8

    Yesterday, when I booted up my G4, BitTorrent which was supposed to boot at launch. It tried to open, it bounced one time and it quit with a OS X Message saying it crashed. Tried relaunching. Still the same. Tried relaunching again. Still the same. So I decided to restart, same problem. My final thoughts were that the app was corrupted. So I found the DMG file that has this program, replaced the program, and guess what, it still gets that error message. Today, I launched Dashboard and while loading, I got a OS X Message saying "DashboardClient" has quit. And then the widgets couldn't load (at all).

    Is this a problem with my Mac, this system, or a virus that make apps crash?
     
  2. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #2
    There is no virus, only bad hdd and bad permissions. Do permissions repair from diskutil or verify your hard drive.
     
  3. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #3
    Repaired the volume, verified the HD, it says that it appears to be OK. Nothing has changed, still crashes.
     
  4. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    There will be logs at the console. You can try to open up console and see what the logs has to say.
     
  5. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #5
    Here's what is written in the console:
     
  6. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #6
    your bit torrent app is looking for a file oh which it was not able to find. It might be a corrupted install of the torrent client.

    Fully uninstall it, removing any traces of it, delete all the cache, temporary folders and what not that is associated with it before reinstalling it again.
     
  7. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #7
    How do I fully delete all traces of it?
     
  8. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #8
    NO!!! It's not the BitTorrent app, my iWork and iLife sets both doesn't work at all! Not even iTunes! Not other third-party apps such as MacTubes, iShow U and Paintbrush!

    Now, what should I do:
    -Replace my hard drive
    -Reinstall Leopard
    -Downgrade to Tiger
    -Nothing, if the problem is my iMac itself
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Reinstall Leopard. If that doesn't fix it, replace the hard drive.
     
  10. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #10
    I'll reinstall once I get my hard drive enclosure.
     
  11. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #11
    Did you choose to install the experimental leopard-webkit (537.xx) as system default using the included scripts?

    Similar symptom where many apps stop working.
     
  12. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #12
    Yes I did. That's the problem?
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    Possibly, it can break a lot of things.
     
  14. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #14
    Do I need to reinstall the whole system to fix it?
     
  15. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #15
    Yes, the file that is called README clearly states:

     
  16. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #16
    I'll reinstall Leopard.
     
  17. garirry thread starter macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #17
    WAIT! I selected uninstall from the DevKit package, the next day everything worked fine (today). Dashboard launched, all apps work fine.
     
  18. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #18
    Reinstall Safari 5.0.6.

    ----------

    I wonder if it would make sense to not include those scripts in the experimental build.
     

Share This Page