Leopard takes 9 gigs?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by zblaxberg, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #1
    Why does leopard take 9gigs if I think I read somewhere that tiger only takes 3?
     
  2. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #2
    Just don't install all of the extra language support and you can reduce it by a good few gigs.
     
  3. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    Oh so that's why it takes 9 gigs?:rolleyes:

    @zblaxberg

    That's a good question. All I can imagine is that it takes some massive code programing to get all the 64 bit support.
    It is a huge size increase and it's nearing XP which I think takes about 15 gigs. :eek:
     
  4. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #4
    Tiger retail was PPC only. Leopard retail is Universal 32/64-bit, plus it includes additional features, drivers, media files, and localizations.

    In any case, if you do a custom install and de-select all the languages and printer drivers you don't need, you can reduce Leopard's footprint by about 3GB.
     
  5. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #5
    PAWprint? Heh...
     
  6. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Pawprint, very good ... :):)

    I always do a custom install and leave out everything I don't want or need.
     
  7. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    Not true, you're talking about Vista there. XP only takes a couple of gigs, so Leopard surpassed that. But I really don't understand people whining about it - drives are getting bigger and so is software. When games get released on DVDs instead of CDs nobody seems to complain.
     
  8. cobravap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #8
    Vista was about 10 gig install if i remember correctly. Yes bloated but i guess it would have it be. I wonder if there will be an option for PPC and Intel installs? What does everyone think? I doubt it though.
     
  9. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #9
    don't all the vetor graphics take much space??
     
  10. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #10
    notta.......the installer is smart enough to know which platform you have & installs only the appropriate code sets :)

    As for the space needed, YES you can significantly reduce it by only installing the language packs/localizations & printer drivers that you actually will use!
     
  11. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I usually do custom install and uncheck everything. :D
     
  12. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #12
    if you install xcode or x11 it takes even more. with 500gb+ drives these days it doesnt mean too much, just a longer install time
     
  13. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #13
    exactly!... this is what i thought

    haha pawprint.... good one! :D
     
  14. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Remember that you can use XSlimmer to save a few GBs from the get-go :)
     

Share This Page