Leopard tsmuxer now available

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Cave Man, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #1
    Here you go:

    http://www.smlabs.net/tsmuxer_en.html

    Now, the only thing that needs to be done on the Windows side is the ripping of Blu-ray discs using Any DVD HD. All else can be done on the Mac side.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #3
    Wow this is great news... I still need to use eac3to on the Windows side for a few things (I think), but this is yet another obstacle out of the way!
     
  4. soup4you2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #4
    Is there a good equivalent of BDInfo for OS X?
     
  5. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #5
    Unfortunately, no. If you need playlist info from the BR disc, you'll need to do it under windows with BDinfo.
     
  6. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #6
    Also just need a DTS converter for the mac and we'll be good to go.
     
  7. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #7
    Why does all this stuff have to be so complicated. I rip my neighbors dvds and watch them then delete them and that is super easy.

    Can someone please explain how I would go about doing this?

    1. rip the blu ray with anydvd hd
    2. take the files and make an .mkv with makemkv (googled for blu ray to mkv and that showed up, seems pretty good)


    that's what I see as the simplest way to do it but this but I know its a lot more complicated.

    All I want to do is take a blu ray disc and make a file so i can play it in 1080p on my computer. I don't care if the file is 20 gigs or w/e. I just want it in full hd.
     
  8. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #8
    All you need to do is step 1 (rip with AnyDVD HD) and it's ready for playback on your Mac using Plex.
     
  9. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #9
    Ok cool I didn't know that, thanks man.

    But lets say I want to take a blu ray, convert to .mkv, and put that .mkv on an external hard drive? I'm now researching the Wd hd tv and popcorn hour for streaming purposes once I get this figured out.
     
  10. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    I'm not sure as I don't do mkv's. Handbrake will do them (i.e., AnyDVD HD to HB to mkv), but I've never use it for this. Is there a particular reason you need the movie in this container?
     
  11. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #11
    Erm what about DTS to AC3:confused: that is needed :D
     
  12. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #12
    Yes, that would be an important addition, especially since most Blu-ray discs are in DTS/DTS-HD.
     
  13. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #13
    no there's no particular reason. so what other codecs can i get full 1080p in? I don't care about file size, just the quality. So handbrake would take the VOB (or whatever kinds of files there are on BD) and have them stay full 1080p?
     
  14. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #14
    The best quality you'll get is to use the m2ts container straight off of the Blu-ray rip. Inside this container will be the video (in H.264 AVC, MPEG-2 or VC-1) and audio (usually in DTS/DTS-HD and sometimes AC3 Dolby Digital or True-HD). The reason this is the best is because you don't have to transcode it (i.e., reencode). On Macs, a few apps can play these files. Plex and XBMC are the best with fewest dropped frames and transcoding of DTS-HD or True-HD down to DTS or DD on-the-fly so that it can be sent out the optical port to your receiver. VLC can also play Blu-ray rips, but it's not as efficient.

    The next best quality is to use Handbrake to transcode to any of a number of containers, including MP4 and MKV. This requires a transcode of the Blu-ray video (usually to H.264) and you can get AC3 Dolby Digital, but not DTS, 5.1 audio for passthrough of the optical port.
     
  15. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #15


    so what would be the steps to getting the m2ts file?
     
  16. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #16
    Boot into windows and rip the Blu-ray with AnyDVD HD
     
  17. mpshay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #17
    Just rip it with AnyDVD HD. Easy, but a big file!
     
  18. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #18
    I thought when you did that it just created a video folder with evo and map files?
     
  19. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
  20. jakerules133 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #20

    so when i get the .m2ts file does that have audio with it or do i have to do anything to get audio with it?
     
  21. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #21
    .m2ts has Audio (DTS/DTS-HD/TrueHD/AC3) and Video (AVC/Mpeg4/VC1) in it.
     
  22. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #22
    That's the part I don't like. I really do not want to install Windows on my Mac.
    I guess I will have to wait and hope AnyDVD HD will have a Mac version soon. :(
     
  23. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #23
    I'm hoping that the guys at RipIt bring this feature out in the future, they've expressed interest in doing so on their forums, so who knows?! :)
     
  24. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #24
    wow. so is everyone doing this with an external blu-ray drive? or on a pc with a blu-ray drive (that came with the blu-ray drive)

    i probably could install a blu-ray drive in my mac pro, but not sure if i want to do that just yet
     
  25. mpshay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #25
    I do all of this on a quad core Vista machine that is used for nothing but DVD/BluRay ripping via AnyDVD HD and/or Clone DVD
     

Share This Page