Leopard Up-To-Date Ugrade DVD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by adskin80, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. adskin80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I ordered Leopard through the up-to-date program. It arrived this morning and I installed it about an hour ago. so far so good, although it takes a lot longer to boot up.

    Anyway, I would just like to now. If at sometime in the future I would like to do a clean install, is it possible just to use the Leopard DVD, or would I have to install Tiger then upgrade to Leopard?

    Thanks
     
  2. enklined macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #2
    I'd like to know the answer to this, too. Anyone know?
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Just wait.

    Leopard does take awhile to boot up the first few times, it mentioned something about building the boot cache.

    Right now it is taking my machine about a second longer to boot into Leopard.
     
  4. Ctrl2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #4
    I got the disk today too. I don't need it, as I am an ADC member and I already got the GM download and the full disc is coming as well, but I booted it up anyway to take a look.

    The disc definitely does an upgrade check, but the text does say something like "checking for an installation of MAC OS X 10.4 or higher"

    "Or higher", is the key, as I already have Leopard installed on my machine. When I continued on, and tried to install Leopard on another disk I had hooked up, it was going to let me do an erase & install. So clearly the disk is good for reinstalls as long as you have 10.4 or later (including 10.5) installed on one of your attached disks.

    I don't know what it will do if you have just a blank disk with nothing on it. I would suppose the disk wouldn't let you install.
     
  5. Locker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #5
    I asked this question to someone via Apple Online Chat and the answer I was given was that it's actually the same DVD as the retail version and so an Erase & Install would be no problem.
     
  6. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    That's not entirely true. You can do an Erase & Install, but the DVD is most certainly not the same as the retail disc. We need a sticky for this information methinks (if there isn't one already) :)
     

Share This Page