Leopard with 2GB or 4GB Ram?..

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sdahe, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #1
    MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz with Leopard

    I'm running Leopard with 2GB... is that enough or 4GB will make a big difference?...

    Thanks
     
  2. ajx22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Honolulu (Hawai'i Kai), Hawai'i
    #2
    Completely depends on what you're doing with it. If you're not doing video editing, etc. - then yes it will still function well with 2GB.

    That said - more RAM will always be better...especially at the minuscule cost (3rd party - not from AAPL directly). RAM is the best <$100 investment you can make.
     
  3. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #3
    some people has been telling me that I need to get the memory from Apple... that I can't use other memory

    Is this true?
     
  4. ajx22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Honolulu (Hawai'i Kai), Hawai'i
    #4
    No - don't waste $700 getting it from AAPL.

    Do a search - there are many places that come highly recommended for 3rd party RAM.

    ie.
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/53IM2DDR4GBK/
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...1327924738+1328123897&name=DDR2+667+(PC2+5300)
    http://www.crucial.com/

    ...and others.

    Here's a Step-By-Step How-To:
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-2-Duo/RAM/115/3/
     
  5. timtam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    BaLi
    #5
    totally not true. get third party Ram, cheaper, fully compatible, it is just RAM. newegg is a good place to start
     
  6. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #6
    Most of the time I work with Photoshop (photography and web design) and I feel the computer ok for me... maybe I'm used to it.. some day I'll get more RAM to see how it works
     

Share This Page