LeopardAssist 3 Preview Release

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iMacC2D, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. iMacC2D, Dec 16, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  2. tigerintank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #2
    Am unclear what this is for sorry.

    Will it help me with my iMac G5 running Leopard as well or is to get Leopard onto unsupported machines only?
     
  3. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #3
    Unsupported machines.
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    Thank you for your hard work, which I'm sure must fall into the category of "a labor of love".
     
  5. gavinstubbs09, Dec 16, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013

    gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #5
    Glad to see a update! I am one to look at an old project I worked on years back and decide to pull it out and make it so much better then the previous.

    Nice work!

    Also it looks like I need to make a tutorial about installing Leopard with a 800MHz iMac G4 soon :D
     
  6. tigerintank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #6
    ah right suspected, but wasn't sure - thanks for confirming.

    In that case full credit where credits due - not many people around who would put that effort in for the love of it and to the benefit the apple PPC community - much respect :cool:
     
  7. iMacC2D, Dec 17, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017

    iMacC2D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
  8. iMacC2D, Jan 11, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017

    iMacC2D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
  9. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #9
    I can say from my testing that it's a rock-solid version.

    Other than:

    1. Doesn't work on Jaguar (although you already know that now.)
    2. Certain systems require being on their latest firmware first. I don't know if there's any way for you to procedurally check for that, or if that would be a royal pain in the @$$ to implement... But a warning would be good. (I found this out on my Cube.)

    On a Panther-or-later system on its latest firmware, it works great!
     
  10. DaKKs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #10
    And how well does it run on unsupported machines? I mean, Leopard runs well enough on my maxed 1.67Ghz PBG4, and even there, its just barely fast enough for normal use.

    Don't get me wrong, its an amazing piece of software, I just don't get the point of it if say, my iBG4 (800) is too slow do use afterwards.
     
  11. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #11
    On my iMac G4 - 800 MHz, Leopard is just as usable as Tiger.

    On my G4 Cube - 450 MHz, Leopard is slightly slower, but since it can run newer software, it becomes "more usable."
     

Share This Page