Leopord in Virtualbox on Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cham911, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. cham911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    #1
    Dears,

    this is my first post so first, hello to all of you.

    I'm trying to install a OSX 10.6 in a virtualbox on a 10.6 iMac. In fact, I'm just trying to use the provide DVD of my own iMac to create a new instance in the Virtualbox (to have a "scratchable" OS for some testing and tries purpose)

    When I install the OS in the Virtualbox, I get a "cannot install OS in this machine" ! Which at first glance sounded strange to me. After reading the web, I understood Apple restrict the installation of an OS on a different machine (or at least configuration).

    I guess the Virtualmachine is not recognize as a "similar" one compared to my physical one.

    Does anyone has a clue on the virtualbox settings to use to make it work ?
    What are the settings the OS is linked to that prevent my virtual machine to install correctly ?

    I noticed I cannot have more than about 3.5Gb or ram in the virtual machine but my physical one has 4Gb. Perhaps this difference prevents the OS to install.

    Any idea or solution welcome.

    Kind regards.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Why do you want to install a Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard virtual machine on a Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard install in the first place? And if you have to, use the 19 USD Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard DVD from the Apple Online Store.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    you could always make a second bootable 10.6 drive over usb to do your testing
     
  4. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #4
    This guide is for my 10.6.3 and 10.6.7 machine specific disks, but it should work also for Leopard disks. The guide assumes you use Snow Leopard as your platform and the necessary tools (see guide):
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=13000644#post13000644
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    He/she is a developer and can not afford a second Mac, or he/she is just curious?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    That is why I asked, as running a second OS from another partition is faster than using a VM.
     
  7. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #7
    No, because this requires a restart. Not exactly what you want, if you develop Mac applications.

    ----------

    Benchmarks?
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    Do those that develop mac apps really run a virtual osx within osx? Or do they just run on a copy of osx from a separate boot volume
     
  9. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #9
    I test the backwards compatibility of my apps in VMs.
     

Share This Page