Lepord's memory control

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vansouza, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #1
    I know the new cat is 64bit but about next to zero after that. But I noticed this: I installed a widget that kept an eye on my 2 gigs of ram in my ALiMac 2.8. Over the past few weeks that it was installed I noticed my "free memory" hovering between 700 and 200 at the low end. I just installed the system widget and it reports free memory at 1421. Now that is some kind of a change. Got to love this new cat.
     
  2. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
  3. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #3
    Just checked

    Just checked and it is still great at 1047meg, oops went up to 1050. :eek:
     
  4. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Odd, I'm consistently showing more RAM used in Leopard than I did with Tiger. :confused:
     
  5. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #5
    no idea

    I am just not geek enough to know why, just checked and it is up to 1136M. Perhaps in a few more days it will get bloated.
     
  6. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #6
    I have noticed that Leopard has amazing memory management. Some of my third party apps used to consume 100MB of RAM and now under Leopard they're using 20-30MB.
     

Share This Page