let it sn0w let it sn0w let it sn0w

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by andybno1, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. adiemask macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #2
    Thats 5.00 pm in the UK. A pleasent surprise, I was expecting sometime tomorrow, 4 Nov was suggested by Geohot earlier in the week!
     
  2. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    he obviously managed to get it ready a day earlier which is more than welcomed :D shame it's a 5pm release means I have to wait half an hour before I finally upgrade to 3.1.2 properly :D
     
  3. Pitsy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #4
    crap.......

    Thats like 9pm in the middle east...

    We arealways last, still waiting the AppleTV update to3.0!!

    Pitsy
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    GeoHot tweets:

    to clarify, the sn0wday was moved up a day, due to testing going great...not 11/4/09, now 11/3/09
    about 4 hours ago from web9

    @yos17 11/03 Noon EST
    about 4 hours ago from web in reply to yos17[/I]
     
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Very cool. So, this is basically a process that runs every time you boot like yellowsn0w and ultrasn0w, right?
     
  6. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    You know how timezones like, work...don't you?

    On topic, can't wait for this, although may let some others do this first before I jump on the wagon.
     
  7. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
  8. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    Am I understanding this right?

    If I'm succesfully jailbroken on 3.1.2/4.26.08 (3G) and would like to be on the latest baseband (ATT Subscriber), Blackra1n will get me there? I know noone has quantified the gain from the baseband upgrade, but I'm assuming there is some marginal benefit to me.

    Also, does blackra1n run every time you boot your phone? If so, is that a cause for concern?

    Thanks!
     
  9. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
  10. ldobson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #11


    I doubt you will see any benefit from a new baseband, its very basic in what it does, and if anything Apple have been removing features from it, to slow down the exploits. BlackSn0w once run will give you a perm unlock yes.
     
  11. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #12
    Thanks. I guess what I'm asking in simplest terms is if blackra1n will get me to 3.1.2 with the 5.11.07 baseband. No need for blacksn0w, but I guess it wouldn't hurt to unlock and still be on ATT?
     
  12. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #13
    I wonder what the Dev team think of all this. Do they plan to incorporate Geohot's work into their own tools or...
     
  13. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #14
    you don't see a benefit? how about a fix for the carrier issue? for the couple of days I tried 3.1.2 with the version 4 baseband I was forever losing connection and getting messages saying subscribe to a data bundle. turns out because the baseband was conflicting it was not storing my carrier information so YES there is a benefit from it as it should solve this
     
  14. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #15


    If you are an ATT subscriber then you don't need to worry about baseband upgrades or activation. Blackra1n is a jailbreak solution and blacksn0w is an unlock to run on multiple carriers.

    Also blackra1n doesn't run every time. It just breaks the chain of trust at a very low level and once it is done it is done.

    Answering your question if you are a legit subscriber with ATT you can restore to a fresh 3.1.2 (which will update your baseband) and jailbreak with blackra1n. No need to use blacksn0w.
     
  15. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    I think GeoHotz said that blackSn0w will be available on Cydia. So if you're already jailbroken with Pwnage you can just download the unlock.
     
  16. justinwebb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
  17. justbrowsing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #18
    it's working for me
    soooooooooooo quick to do
     
  18. medicscott macrumors 6502a

    medicscott

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    san diego
    #19
    so are we back to where every iphone is unlockable and can be jb??
     
  19. OhioLefty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #20
    Maybe a dumb question but here goes. Is there any way other than trying a different sim (from another carrier) to know whether or not you are actually "unlocked"?

    Not that I doubt that what I just did worked (I'm officially activated on AT&T) or not, just curious.

    Thanks in advance...

    BTW, I am now officially jailbroken (BlackRa1n - firmware: v3.1.2) and unlocked (BlackSn0w - baseband: 5.11.07) on a 3GS. Thanks GeoHot!

    I gratefully donated via PayPal! :apple: :D
     
  20. ihonda macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #21
    sigh i installed blackra1n when it first came out and removed the .app now i just re-ran the newest rc3 and i cant get my blackra1n.app to re-appear fml
     
  21. ldobson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #22
    Apart from new factory iPhones with come with a new iBoot loader which can only support a "tethered" jailbreak which basically means you have to re-run blackra1n every time you reboot. Other than that yes.
     
  22. OhioLefty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #23

    You will probably have to wait for it on Cydia, or if you really want to redo it, restore to the official v3.1.2 and run blackra1n R3 and then blacksn0w from the install.

    Good luck...
     
  23. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #24
    It says BlackSn0w will be available on cydia later today, is there a special source that I need to add to get it or no? Because at the moment, it's not on cydia yet.
     
  24. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #25
    OK, so if we are JB with Pwnage Tool, in order to use Blackra1n, we have to restore to official Apple 3.1.2, then just use RC3, is this correct.

    Can't go directly to Blackra1n from JB PT ??
     

Share This Page