iPhone X Let Target transfer data to new phone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by maverick22, Mar 27, 2018.

  1. maverick22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #1
    I think I'll be switching from T-mobile to AT&T tomorrow to take advantage of the B1G1 AT&T offers and the $250 for both new activations (porting mine and wife's numbers).

    I talked to the rep today through some of the process, and I think I heard him say "when we transfer your stuff..." Is that a good/safe idea?

    I backed up both of our phones tonight via itunes on our PC. I may have heard him wrong, but if Target does do that, should I go with that or just skip it and set up our phones as new when I get home?

    thanks
     
  2. Atomic Walrus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #2
    Since you already know how to do iPhone backups, there's no reason to let them touch anything. Set them up as new, and then restore your backups onto them when you get home.
     
  3. maverick22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for the reply!

    I didn't know if their "machine/system" would be better or worse. I just don't want to lose anything - just like anyone. Tons and tons of pictures and videos I want to hold onto!
     
  4. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #4
    Do it yourself, especially since you know how to back everything up.

    For whatever reason, they're talking about data transfer just like what we had to do fifteen years ago. I've bought my iPhones either from a physical Apple retail store or online (through apple.com) and never had to rely on them for moving everything over. Heck, the last time we bought an iPhone, it populated itself with all my wife's contacts and emails before we could get out of the store. iCloud's syncing abilities can be downright magical for stuff like this.
     
  5. maverick22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #5
    I'll be getting a phone for my wife as well while she's at work.

    Is the process easy enough to do since she won't be there? Will the Target rep just activate the new carrier's sim card, I'll take it home, and then we just pop the sim in her phone, then set hers up as new, restore from backup?

    thanks
     
  6. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #6
    Something like that, yeah. Or you can buy it and not even open the box, then activate it at home. That's what I did when we got my 5S.

    FWIW, when we got our last couple phones (my SE and her 8), we traded in the old iPhones and went through a few extra steps in-store to unlink them from our iCloud accounts. That was done primarily to wipe their data and make them ready for refurbishing/reselling/recycling/whatever-they-do. Activating the new phones was super-simple, though.

    Here's Apple's support page about transferring data from your older iPhone to the new one:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201269

    It seems like a long read, but they've included three main methods you can choose from: "Quick Start", or using iCloud, or using iTunes.
     
  7. maverick22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #7
    How did you "activate it at home"? Is the activation done through itunes when you set up as new from backup?

    Thanks for the info! Yes I am pretty sure I know how to do 'set up as new' from a backup.

    My wife's iphone 6 is only on ios10. Think there will be any issues since new phones obviously come with ios11?
     
  8. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #8
    I'd plan on updating your wife's to iOS 11 if the methods outlined don't work, but it should be ok if it's still on iOS 10.

    Yup, the activation can be through iTunes or any of the other methods. Check what they say on that page about "Transfer your SIM card or contact your carrier". When we did ours, I think we kept the old SIM and put it in the new phone, and the SIM that came in the new phone went into the trash (but I'm not 100% sure).
     
  9. maverick22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #9
    Do you think it matters if you have the most recent version of itunes? I made backups from an older version of itunes. Hope it wouldn't affect anything.

    thanks
     
  10. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #10
    The support doc talks about the latest version. What's holding you back from updating?
     
  11. maverick22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #11
    It just takes awhile on my PC. I went ahead and updated it though. My computer takes forever to restart and get going again, and I needed to use it.

    Also, as crazy as this might sound, I didn't know if since I made the backups on the older version of itunes if there may have been less issues when setting up new phones. Hopefully that made sense. Just paranoid I guess ha.
     

Share This Page