Let's say i have a program that will only run on Windows XP....

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by d wade, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #1
    Ok, i want to buy Pinnacle Dazzle DVD recorder but it says it is for windows xp only.

    i really need this product, but i am afraid to buy it because obviously am running OSX.

    what would be the best way to accomplish this? do i need to install and run windows on my mac? or does anyone know if maybe a windows product like windows moviemaker or anything like that would work?

    please help. i will reply back with any further details if i left anything out.
     
  2. citi macrumors 65816

    citi

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    #2
    Well from what I can see, it's just a passthrough device. You can already do that with a camcorder with a firewire or usb out to imovie, set up the chapters and then burn to idvd. It may not be as on the fly but it will save you from spending the 50$ on pinnacle and another 75$ on your windows license. Do you have a video camera with firewire or usb out? You can use the the camera to record from vhs also. It's really easy. I do it all the time.
     
  3. furious macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    are you using an intel mac?

    Will iMovie, iDVD not do what this program does?
     
  4. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #4
    The Mac has so many fantastic (and far superior) video and audio editing programs, there is absolutely no reason you should be looking at Windows solutions unless you don't own a Mac. There are a ton of A/V devices out there for Mac, and of course great software to go with them. Can you tell us exactly what you intend to do? Maybe some of the knowledgeable A/V nuts around here can recommend something in particular. As for me, I have an EyeTV hybrid that has A/V inputs if I should need them for an analog source.
     
  5. Mindcrime13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #5
    well first, no, it will not run on your mac, you would need to install bootcamp and windows,

    second:

    to burn a dvd if you got the MPEG2 or the video format you wish to burn into a dvd you can use DVD studio pro, iDVD or Toast, and im sure there are a few more out there, just search!;) :apple:
     
  6. d wade thread starter macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #6
    Ok here is what i want to do.

    i play alot of xbox360, and i would like to record the matches to be able to make a highlight film of 'best plays/shots/etc." everyone i know who has the capture card uses Pinnacle Dazzle products

    i would like to get a program that does it for mac, but i still cant find one after weeks of searching
     
  7. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    If all your friends have PCs it's normal that they have their own favorite program for that platform.

    What Mac do you have? I understand you don't have a video capture device. How will the output of the console be connected?
     
  8. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    You can't find a video editing program? Are you kidding me? The Mac is the defacto video editing program. There's plenty: iMovie, Adobe Premier, Apple Final Cut Studio, Final Cut Express... Search for a piece of hardware, the software will follow. There's TONS of editing suites, you don't have to worry about that.

    As for the hardware, I would use my EyeTV Hybrid HDTV tuner; however, that's pretty basic and would only allow for standard definition capture. If you wanted to capture in HD, you'd have to get some other sort of input capture box. Yes, there are things available to do that, but I personally don't know any names.
     
  9. d wade thread starter macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #9
    would the EyeTV be able to record what is happening on the TV? it looks like it records on the computer screen.

    I need to capture what is happening on the TV screen to something, then take that recorded material and put it on the computer to edit.
     
  10. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #10
    Yeh the EyeTV would work perfectly, Composite output from the 360 into the EyeTV will allow you to produce a video file, which will import straight into iMovie :)
     

Share This Page