Leviton Dimmers and Switches

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by cynics, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #1
    I feel these sneak under the radar for many so I figured I'd do a brief review.

    Leviton makes toggle type dimmers and switches that work in 3 way and 4 way configs that are compatible with HomeKit.

    The major benefit with these is you can use them for 3 way switches that many homes have and they do not require a hub.

    http://www.leviton.com/en/products/lighting-controls/decora-smart-with-homekit-technology

    First off its a bit confusing the way they work. But to keep it simple you buy the HomeKit dimmer or switch which come in 3 forms, 600 watt dimmer, 1000 watt dimmer and 15amp switch. Those will work in any single pole or 3/4 way configuration. If you have a 3/4 way switch you buy ONE of the above dimmers or switches and the matching remote (ex. DD00R-DLZ) for the other receptacles.

    Things to know before buying anything.

    1. In a 3 way configuration they require the remote, they will not work with standard 3 way switches.
    2. The HomeKit dimmer/switch AND remote require neutrals (they are loads themselves).
    3. The HomeKit dimmer/switch goes on the LOAD side of the circuit, the remote goes on the LINE side.

    The installation instructions SUCK. Being familiar with electronics (per trade) I'm not sure if I was overthinking it or what but I was severely underwhelmed by the installation instructions. I ended up tossing them and doing what I knew was right and they worked perfectly.

    Single pole installation is much easier.

    Like most HomeKit devices the app offers a bit more functionality than HomeKit but once everything is setup to the way you like it you don't need use it again (max/min brightness, default brightness, locator LED on/off, etc).

    So far they work just as well as the rest of my HomeKit products (EcoBee and Philips Hue). They look good on the wall and give all the functionality of a normal dimmer and switch. The switches themselves come in white but the toggle part can snap off to be replaced with a dozen different colors. I find this method of integrated HomeKit to be one of the best because it doesn't require the entire family altering the way they interact with lights and switches if they don't want too.

    Couple other things, because I've read reviews of the products and some are scary.

    1. Never use a dimmer on a fan. You need a fan control. Dimmers reduce voltage and that is bad for a motor.
    2. Never use a dimmer on an outlet. Not only is it against code nearly universally its can damage the dimmer or device plugged in (ex TV, phone charger, vacuum, etc). Use the HomeKit switch for outlets.
     
  2. RWil85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #2
    Maybe you can help me out..

    Bought two - one works and has never disconnected; whereas, the other one has disconnected itself and the Home app tells me that it cannot add the device back into my “home” (put switch in pairing mode, pops up in home app, but then spins and spins and won’t connect).

    Literally, cannot for the life of me, figure it out.

    Worked fine for about a week when it was first connected.

    I also have two Apple TVs - one is shown as Connected and the other as Standby - currently trying to figure out if that is an issue or not.

    But, yes, I love the switch that works lol.
     
  3. cynics thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
    One hub will be connected and the others will show standby, that is normal in my experience.

    Is it just a single pole switch? Always has power?

    Maybe try completely resetting the switch and starting over? Hold the paddle up for 14 seconds until it flashes red/amber.

    Unfortunately I've only had mine a couple weeks, not long enough to see if problems ensue.
     
  4. RWil85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #4
    Do you know if there is a way to select which one is connected? And maybe remove the secondary Standby one as a way to avoid any issues?

    Single pole switch, yes.

    I’ve removed it from my home account - did the 14 second thing - it shows up in the Home app - just won’t add it. Baffled.

    Wonder if it’s just a lemon. Can’t imagine it’d be a range thing.
     
  5. wesley96 macrumors 6502

    wesley96

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #5
    I had two Leviton switches, both in single-pole configuration, for a few weeks. I hadn't had any issues with them during use. I only have one hub (Apple TV 4th gen). I did hear about some people having issues with multiple hub setup, but not necessarily with Leviton switches.
     
  6. jljue macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Brandon, MS
    #6
    I have several of these Leviton switches installed in my house. I do have one or two that seem to go offline once in a blue moon, so I have to reset the breaker to get them to be seen on the network and not show up as “No Response” in the Home app. However, they have been pretty good so far. My wife likes them better than the GE Z-wave switches that are still installed, since it has the side buttons for dim instead of dim being a longer press.
     

Share This Page

5 October 17, 2017