LG tv no sound on component

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MacBH928, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I am trying to connect my LG tv with component to my DVD player. The problem is I have no sound but there is a picture.

    As you can see in the image attached, there is a single connection for the component wires colored in green. There are none for audio. I did attach the red+white wires into composite connection (the yellow one in the picture) and inserted it in the back where it says "Audio" .

    Its no use, one one know how to work this thing? I tested a DVD player through HDMI it worked well.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GreatDrok, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015

    GreatDrok macrumors 6502a

    GreatDrok

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    It may be your TV is expecting the audio input to be coming from a digital source rather than the analogue audio pair here so there may be an option in the settings to specify the audio source for the component input. Otherwise, if your TV only has a single HDMI input, you could easily get an external HDMI switch box and use that. I have one that has four inputs because I long ago ran out of HDMI sockets on my set.
     
  3. wongster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #3
    post a cleaner picture that is not so blurry. also what model lg tv is it?
     
  4. takeshi74, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015

    takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #4
    55LM7610?
    http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=42010

    Sounds correct if you're saying that the analog audio outputs on the DVD player are connected to the composite adapter. Have you verified that the DVD player is actually putting out audio via those connectors?
     
  5. MacBH928 thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #5

    Your help is much appreciated,
    I just want to know where the audio wires go to because for the composite you have 1 video-2 audio(red+white) , but for the component you have 3 video wires(blue+green+red) but no audio. Where would I put the audio wires?

    There is a label on the back that specifically says "AUDIO" I did run the audio wires there that but no sound either.

    I tried the DVD player with another TV in this exact setup and it worked. I figured its an option in the TV so I chose "TV speaker" from the menu, but its no use either. There was TV Speaker and PCM.

    I think the sound won't play even if I use composite wires.
     
  6. Cherrysoda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    #6
    You need an adapter by the looks of the picture. They usually come with the TV.
     
  7. alm99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #7
    Try getting the proper cables. They color code the ends on purpose.

    Are you sure you are connect to the right imports? Red audio to red audio, white audio to white audio?
     
  8. wongster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #8
    usually with this kind of adapter on the tv, the component video signal would go to the green on of the tv and the audio signal would go to the yellow one. rgb cables plug into the green side as the green is the video signal and the blue and red are the colors. the audio red and white would be audio left and right and the yellow would be left blank.
     
  9. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #9
    Probably the red and white like you've been trying. Post the model or a good pic or check your DVDp settings, as people have recommended. Basically, everyone is just taking guesses, which aren't going to help you much.
     
  10. MacBH928 thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #10
    Thanks.

    I solved it in a weird way. I used a different DVD, plugged all the composite and all the component cables and switched to the composite source/input on the TV. The sound worked!

    I switched back to component source/input , now that sound works there too. I used the original DVD again to see if it works, but no use. I just have to throw it I guess.

    Sad because it was one of the more expensive ones with surround sound systems (I tried to find the option to use the TV speakers, and if that didn't work then this device probably outputs to surround speakers only which I doubt)
     

Share This Page