Life-long PC User Buys Unibody MacBook Pro! Learn How It Went...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dirkph, Nov 8, 2008.

1. dirkph macrumors member

Hello everyone!

Just wanted to let everyone know my impressions of the late 2008 MBP from the perspective of a life-long PC user. I've had it for about 2 weeks now... and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT.

I've been a life-long PC user that does a little bit of everything - I game, I do photo-editing, I run a business online, I do university level work on it, etc. And no, I am not a product of Apple's incredibly clever and witty marketing schemes - I've been contemplating switching for a very long time but was too afraid to leave my comfort zone. I was also quite skeptical of Macs, but when I tried my friend's early '08 MBP, then saw the redesign on Oct. 14, I knew I had to switch.

All I've seen so far on this boards are posts about little problems people have had on their MBP, but so far I've experienced absolutely no problems. My system has not crashed once. It runs faster than any PC of comparable spec... and it looks absolutely gorgeous - I get comments about it at school on a regular basis.

But let me briefly analyze my experience so far based on the fact that I am switching from a comparably spec'd PC laptop computer...

Gaming

I don't game that much. I play CoD4 and Guitar Hero III off XP in BootCamp. Performance-wise, it's brilliant. I had a similarly spec'd Dell Inspiron with an 8600 GT and I can honestly say it's been running about 20%-40% quicker. I can comfortably run this game on the highest settings (on 1280x800). On Guitar Hero 3, it runs even better. What I don't like about gaming on this rig is the fact that I must utilize BootCamp to access these games. This is a huge tradeoff as I absolutely hate Windows XP.