LiftMaster's Garage Door Openers Will Support HomeKit in April

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 18, 2017.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Following in the footsteps of its parent company Chamberlain, LiftMaster today announced that all of its residential garage door openers can be upgraded to work with HomeKit using the new MyQ Home Bridge starting in April.

    [​IMG]

    HomeKit compatibility will enable users to open, close, or check the status of their garage door, and turn MyQ-connected lights on or off, using the MyQ Connected Home app on iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch. Siri voice commands and HomeKit scenes will also be supported on compatible devices.

    The MyQ Home Bridge will have an introductory price of $49.99, and cost $69.99 afterwards.

    Article Link: LiftMaster's Garage Door Openers Will Support HomeKit in April
     
  2. BuffaloTF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #2
    Ok. Cool. But does it simultaneously support a hub like Wink or SmartThings? I'm such a newbie in this, it seems like the beauty of it all is creating triggers across connectivity standards so that different behaviors happen... like all the doors unlock if the fire alarms go off, maybe even add the garage door to that.
     
  3. ArtOfWarfare macrumors G3

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #3
    I already have an existing bridge I bought from LiftMaster... can I exchange it for the new one at a discounted price or something?
     
  4. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
  5. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #5
    MyQ already works with Wink so I don't think they would take that functionality away. I imagine that this just adds HomeKit. It'll probably be similar to Ecobee, where the Wink Hub doesn't control the device directly, but communicates through the API, and that way other devices can also control it simultaneously.
     
  6. consumerDan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    At least they are supporting it, but I bought replacement garage doors and openers back in November. Before purchasing I asked Liftmaster if model 8550W openers would support HomeKit. They said yes, in a free update because the hardware supports the encryption level that HomeKit requires.

    Now there is another piece of hardware involved and additional cost. I probably would not have purchased if I was told what would have happened. Oh well...
     
  7. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    You'll need both bridges. The new one you can get at a discounted price for a little while, and it will allow for homekit.
     
  8. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #8
    I already have their current bridge - it does all this already (except for the Siri and Homekit stuff). Since I don't have any other Homekit items yet I see no reason to jump on this for a $20 savings over the future price.
     
  9. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Why do you say we need both bridges?
     
  10. emck macrumors newbie

    emck

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    #10
    ok can someone let me know what the part number is to to get the HomeKit bridge I have the old one and I am not sure it is compatible with HomeKit.
     
  11. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    Your current one is definitely not compatible with HomeKit since this is the announcement for its release in April. The new HomeKit bridge is model number 819LMB.
     
  12. emck macrumors newbie

    emck

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    #12
    Thanks for the info, I guess I will have to wait until April to get the new bridge.
     
  13. imola.zhp macrumors 6502a

    imola.zhp

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    Mud Island (Memphis), TN
    #13
    I just ditched my 1997 chain drive Liftmaster and bought a Ryobi GDO. I had a universal MYQ on the 1997, oh well, loving the quiet belt drive Ryobi.
     
  14. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #14
    That's what I've been told by their rep.

    But we were also told that we were getting Homekit with a free update, so who knows.
     
  15. RightMACatU macrumors 65816

    RightMACatU

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #15
    Just LOL! Grasping at straws here...
    As a house owner with a garage door opener for many many years such requirement has never cross my mind and not about to.
     
  16. Drumjim85, Jan 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017

    Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #17
    To be fair, LiftMaster's remote product is already available too. They're just now adding Homekit to it, which your product doesn't have.
     
  17. jtjk macrumors newbie

    jtjk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    #18
    Thats not my product, but I am interested to by it.
     
  18. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #19
    Considering they killed SmartThings "support" (that was figured out by the community) after they complained their servers were being used too much, I cannot see this being a great version 1.0 offering for HomeKit. Those with MyQ already probably should wait to see how this works long term. Until companies offer support for both SmartThings and HomeKit in the same product(s), I cannot see these being extremely popular choices for consumers.
     
  19. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #20
    I'll have to check, but I think I have a LiftMaster at home. For $49 I'll add that to HomeKit no problem! It's not something I'd consider essential to my smart home setup, but for the price? Sure!
     
  20. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #21
    Kind of disappointing that new hardware is required. I have their old gateway and am fine with the ios app. A friend bought their deluxe opener with built-in wifi but will need a separate box for Homekit.
     
  21. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #22
    I already have my Chamberlain garage door working within my Wink setup but, I'm hoping they'll offer Alexa integration soon.
     
  22. gugy macrumors 68040

    gugy

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #23
    Oh, I have LM 8550W being install in couple days. Would that support HomeKit?
     
  23. Boatboy24 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #24
    Just had one of my openers replaced a couple weeks ago and was going to get the bridge soon. Glad I waited.
     
  24. splogue macrumors 6502

    splogue

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    #25
    First, I can do all this already from their app, so that part isn't new. The article implies it is, which is incorrect.

    Second, woo hoo! Kudos to Apple for not just laying the framework for consolidating the disparate home automation field, but for doing so with good security.

    You can bet I'll be replacing my bridge as soon as this comes out. The more companies that see there is money in it for them for adding Homekit support, the better off we will all be.
     

Share This Page

47 January 18, 2017