LightBox 2.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by JackT06, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. JackT06 macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I am having trouble with LightBox 2.

    It only seems to work for half of my pictures..

    Click here to view the gallery.

    If anyone would like the code, i can attach it.
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    All the images that loaded for me worked. Seems like there are some server load issues with your site, so that might be the issue for you.
     
  3. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Oh, okay:S

    Could you also check that the buttons are working... They don't seem to be displaying here...?:/
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It appears to be a case sensitivity issue. One the first missing picture I saw it was using an extension of JPG and wasn't found, but when switched to jpg it showed up. This is likely the issue with the others too. Case matters on Unix/Linux servers.
     
  5. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    AHH! Got it! Thankyou!

    I didn't notice the switch in case. Problem solved now.

    thankyou both:D
     
  6. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #6
    At first when I loaded your page, Lightbox wasn't working, until every image loaded. I would probably use smaller thumbnail images, rather than full-size images only scaled down.
     
  7. manueld macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #7
    one other thing, the close button image is missing in the lightbox.
     
  8. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #8
    ...and that can be fixed by editing the location of the closelabel.gif within the lightbox.js file.
     
  9. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Your images are very large, causing a very slow load time for the page. You may want to save those thumb for web because the few I saw were 166k, and they should be more like 20k.
     
  10. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    I'm going to look into this problem tomorrow, thanks for letting me know.

    Thanks, now fixed. Was having trouble locating the file location.

    Fixed.

    I am going to look into this tommorrow. I am thinking of testing my skills, and putting in abit oh PHP Thumbnails to sort this problem out.
     
  11. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #11
    Gallery Updated!

    Hello,

    I have finished updating the gallery. I think the load time has improved quite alot now, please comment on the new gallery..

    I'm hoping to centre the pictures when i get a chance, they are in a table layout!

    Click here to view the gallery.
     
  12. Consultant, Dec 21, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010

    Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    Your logo is almost 200k. It can be compressed to under 50k as JPG.

    At that size it should be in the single digits. More like 7K per thumbnail.
     
  13. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    Although it says its my logo.. It's actually my whole header background... could i still compress and get the sam quality....?

    I'm unable to look how much k my thumbnails are at the moment due to on my mobile. However, i shall check tonight:)
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Yeah I meant header: img03.png

    Able to do 50k as jpg (below) but lower left part might need a transparent gif overlay to stay sharp
     

    Attached Files:

  15. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #15
    Thanks for doing that for me!

    How did you shrink it...? Just for futuore refrence...?
     
  16. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #16
    To compress images as JPEGs, it's ease enough to use Preview (which comes on every Mac). Open the image in Preview, and save it as a JPEG (it lets you choose the quality).
     

    Attached Files:

  17. JackT06 thread starter macrumors 6502

    JackT06

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #17
    Thanks ever so much:)
     
  18. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007

Share This Page