Lightroom 3.2 Released: Defaults Back to 32-bit?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by FourCandles, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Just downloaded and installed the Lightroom 3.2 update.

    I noticed that, although I'd previously set LR3 to open in 64-bit mode, the update overwrote that and defaulted back to opening in 32-bit mode.

    I've unchecked the "Open in 32-bit" check box in Get Info and everything opens fine now.

    Not sure if this is normal for Adobe updates - I'm sure the PS CS5 12.0.1 update didn't do this - but I thought I'd post this in case anyone misses this. Or, indeed, if anyone finds that it doesn't overwrite their preferences.
     
  2. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #2
    My installations (2) did not exhibit that behavior after I upgraded them.
     
  3. feuerschlange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #3
    No change from 64bit on SL 10.6.4.

    I do have set my MAcBook Pro, to natively start in 64bit mode without finger gymnastics. This might make a difference in how the Adobe installer defaults Lightroom.
     
  4. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #4
    Mine stayed at 64 bit, but thanks for the heads up.
     
  5. FourCandles thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. Something that's only just occurred to me:

    The original LR 3.0 upgrade installed as 64 bit by default. I then played around with some benchmarking and switched back to 32 bit, back and forth, then set it back on 64 bit.

    (...and yes, I checked that I'd finally left it on 64 bit by having a look at the previous day's CCC backup!).

    So, possibly that's what confused the installer.

    Still a bug, but one that will hopefully hit far fewer people.
     

Share This Page