Lightroom 5 now or new Aperture later?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hoodedwarbler12, Aug 6, 2013.

1. hoodedwarbler12 macrumors regular

I'm about to switch from PC to Mac. I have a PC-only version of Lightroom 4, so I'll need a new RAW processing/photo editing software. My question is should I go ahead and get Lightroom 5, or should I just survive with iPhoto or BootCamp Windows with my current Lightroom until Apple releases a new version of Aperture? I'm only an amateur photographer so it's not like my career depends on this decision, but I'd like to have the best software I can have as soon as possible. Thanks for your advice.

2. dakwar macrumors 6502

Wait for Aperture 4. And if you get tired of waiting go ahead and buy Aperture 3.

3. antrabbit, Aug 6, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013

antrabbit macrumors member

antrabbit

If you already have Lightroom 4 you should be able to get the upgrade price for version 5 if you still have the old serial number.

Personally I prefer Lightroom over aperture. I've upgraded to version 5 and it's great. But there are pros and cons to both and it's mainly personal preference.

But with Lightroom you should be able to transfer you catalogue settings from PC to Mac, so that any development changes to photos will still be there in the transferred library. Depending on the size of your library this could be a persuasive factor.

4. hoodedwarbler12 thread starter macrumors regular