Lightroom CC suddenly unusable on new late '15 iMac 5k

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by HalfOnWhole, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. HalfOnWhole, Nov 10, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

    HalfOnWhole macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #1
    I have the new 5k with an i7, 16GB, 395 card and a 1TB SSD and have been using Lightroom CC and PS since I got the thing. LR has been fairly sluggish (to my dismay), but I remain hopefully that it's an update away from better performance (truly hope).

    I was starting to edit another batch of photos as I usually do this morning and somewhere in the middle of said process the application became insanely slow to respond in every aspect. Everything from editing to scrolling library (small size library currently) to closing the "about Lightroom CC window" takes up to 10 seconds. Zooming isn't even working at all. The cursor keeps freezing and jumping or not displaying at all. My Mail and Browser, etc apps seem normal. Photoshop seems to be running just fine.

    I restarted the app several times (and it closed itself once or twice) and restarted my computer to no avail. Same performance. It's actually entirely useless at this point. I have no idea what happened or how to solve it. I'm running 2015.2.1 release, which I'm fairly certain is the current as I tried the update panel.

    I have 3 unedited projects that I need to get done by tomorrow and it's of some concern. I really don't want to lose or alter my library to any effect. Not sure if uninstalling LR CC and reinstalling would affect library? Not to mention the presets I've loaded and recently purchased/customized.

    Anybody experiencing this? I truly doubt it as it's quite random and I"ve never seen such a lull in performance before in any application.
     
  2. ItWasNotMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #2
    2015.2.1 is a nightmare - see the Adobe forums:
    http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/2015/10/lightroom-6-2-release-update-and-apology.html

    Usual suggestions are (in order):
    1. Turn off use of GPU
    Preference - Performance - Use Graphics Processor - Uncheck
    2. If that doesn't work Roll-back to previous version
    http://www.lightroomqueen.com/how-do-i-roll-back-to-lightroom-2015-1-1-or-lightroom-6-1-1/
     
  3. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #3
    2015.2.0 was the real problem. The .1 update fixed most of the bugs on my end...I was experiencing slowdowns, constant crashes, etc. The problems you mention though I haven't seen, so I'd report those to Adobe — they're pretty good about responding via Twitter or on their Customer Forums.
     
  4. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #4
    I had an odd slowdown in Photoshop a while back. Normally fast filters where crawling. I even reinstalled PS to no avail. Finally I updated Java and PS returned to speed. Note that this was on a Windows box but it is worth taking a look at since PS seems to be tied to Java at some level. If OS/X disables an outdated version of Java it might have an adverse reaction on LR.
     
  5. HalfOnWhole thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #5
    Thanks guys. I actually just got off the phone with support--the guy used remote access (always feels a little sketchy IMO), but was surprisingly able to get it back to the performance I was experiencing before. Purged/trashed caches, changed a few other minor settings, restarted the app a few times. Hopefully didn't get into Terminal for anything ha.

    Anyway, while it's still a little sluggish on the new 5k iMac, it's running as it was before. I just hope it doesn't get back to that point and require those actions again. Updates are very much welcome to LRCC!
     
  6. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    New version was released recently, 2015.3 - has this version solved your issues?
     
  7. HalfOnWhole thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #7
    Not really /: it's still sluggish (with those A7rii raws especially)
     
  8. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Got it. I'm using the a6000 on a MBP and it's functioning smoothly except for loading the app.
     
  9. BittenApple macrumors 6502a

    BittenApple

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #9
    You should roll back to the version that didn't give you issues.
     

Share This Page