Lightroom + .NEF files?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by csjxx, Jun 7, 2010.

1. csjxx macrumors member

Hello,

As im a complete newbie im looking for help. At first I was shooting in .JPG format on my D300, but now i want to progress into RAW format (.NEF?) as im starting to edit my photos more and more in Adobe Lightroom V2.4.

For some reason when I try to import .NEF files into Lightroom it does not allow me to. Am i doing something wrong?

At the moment I use a card reader, then I use Nikon software to import the images onto my hard drive. From these imported files im trying to import them into Lightroom. Im not sure if this would make a difference?

Also, what is the best way to back up images onto my external... am i better off backing up my original files from my SD card direct to my external or is there a better way?

Thanks in advance, sorry if this is a repost but i searched existing threads and could not find anything.

2. telecomm macrumors 65816

telecomm

You're using a version of Lightroom that's over a year out of date - try Lightroom 2.7.

3. Badradio macrumors 6502

I'm on LR 1.4 and it works fine with NEFs.

OP - I'm not sure what the specific problem is, but your workflow seems complicated. I import direct from my camera into LR. Doing it that way (or from a card reader) you can choose to backup to an external drive as it imports. I use Time Machine so don't need that extra backup, but it might suit your system.

I don't see why it would, but the Nikon software might be messing with the files in some way that causes LR problems.

4. telecomm macrumors 65816

telecomm

NEF files are camera-specific, just because an old version of Lightroom supports old camera NEF files doesn't mean newer cameras will be supported.

For example, support for the D3000 was added last year in Lightroom 2.5.

Google people, Google...

5. compuwar macrumors 601

compuwar