Like Windows L (for LOCK): password lock?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by CavemanMike, May 9, 2016.

  1. CavemanMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #1
    I don't like entering a password each time my macbook wakes up.

    There are times, however, I'd like to press a keyboard shortcut and force my macbook El Capitain into a locked password state.

    Any 3rd party apps for this?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  2. motorboating macrumors newbie

    motorboating

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    #2
    Keychain Access (in the /Applications/Utilities folder) has a preference to place a lock in the menu bar near the clock. Clicking this then allows you to lock either the screen or the keychain.

    You can also set a Hot Corner (System Prefs > Desktop & Screen Saver > Screen Saver > Hot Corners) to 'put display to sleep.' If your system is set to ask for a password after wake or screen saver, then moving the mouse pointer to the specified corner will trigger that.

    If you really want a keyboard shortcut, you could trigger a key combination to execute

    pmset displaysleepnow

    at the command line (which may require a bit of extra work/research.)

    I'm not aware of any third party apps specifically to achieve this because I've never bothered Googling it. The hot corners and/or keychain icon work well enough.
     
  3. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #3
    Enable quick user switching, it will place a menuitem in the menubar, where you can select lockscreen.
     
  4. dwfaust, May 9, 2016
    Last edited: May 10, 2016

    dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here =>[*]
    #4
  5. mag01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #5
  6. Pakaku macrumors 68000

    Pakaku

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    Keychain menubar icon is how I've always done it.
     
  7. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #7
  8. CavemanMike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #8
    Alfred (alfredapp.com) has this built in (in the free version). Just activate it and type LOCK .

    Problem solved!
     

Share This Page