LimeWire

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacBoy108, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. MacBoy108 macrumors 6502

    MacBoy108

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda CA
    #1
    I don't use limewire but this guy at the Apple store told me that its very bad for macs. He said to imagine a mac like a spider web and limewire like a stick messing it all up (Interesting metaphor huh? He looked just like Buddah too) So does anybody know how Limewire is bad for a mac? Thanks.
     
  2. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #2
    I never had problems with it when I ran it years ago before the iTMS.
     
  3. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    I don't run it much now. However in the early days it was crap. The main problem is its a Java App and earlier it did not play nice with OSX. But I have not had problems with it in years (with very limited use in the last year or so).
     
  4. MacBoy108 thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacBoy108

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda CA
    #4
    Hmmm, I have a friend who uses it on his MacBook Pro and he never has any problems either. I just wonder why the Apple store guy (Jason) would make such a big deal about it.
     
  5. mca7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #5
    I haven't had any problems with it until i upgraded to leopard. now it takes forever to initially load the program, after that though all is good.
     
  6. MetalMac macrumors member

    MetalMac

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Tijuana, MEX
    #6
    hmm

    well i had no problems until one day, i opened limewire and as soon as i'd close the tip window it would "unexpectedly quit", so i uninstalled it. just after that i started having internet pauses on safari...
    is this just a bug from safari?
    does safari 3 (final) fix this?
     
  7. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Don't use Limewire. Acquisition is far better. It's a native Cocoa app and uses the same Gnutella network as Limewire.
     
  8. Jaguar127 macrumors newbie

    Jaguar127

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Location:
    Winston Salem, NC
    #8
    Limewire for 10.2

    I say that guy is full of crap! I LOVE Limewire. I have used the heck out of it since 1999 with no problems. I recently just found an older version link if any one needs it works with 10.2.8 Jaguar which is what I have.

    http://mac.oldapps.com/limewire.php?old_limewire=11#Download

    Happy Downloading!

    Why the old link? If you have the Original iMac G4 you can only upgrade to Tiger I think, if you can find it (not on dvd). 700mhz has no Superdrive to play DVDs. If it ain't Broke don't fix it! It still works Great for all my needs, e-mail, internet search, burning CDRs, watching Video clips.
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    Limewire works perfectly, and best of all no viruses from it. :)
     
  10. thirdeyeopen666 macrumors 6502

    thirdeyeopen666

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
  11. Ishimaru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    Thanks for bringing back a two year old thread...
     

Share This Page