Limit bandwidth for a single app?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Cattywampus_, Nov 16, 2008.

  1. Cattywampus_ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    I am trying to limit the upload bandwidth of a program. Are there any apps out there that will allow me to do this?

    I have read there is something built into OSX that can do this at the command line level (ipfw or something?) but I was looking for something simple and with a GUI front end.

    Anyone help?

    Many thnaks.
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
  3. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    You can try out ThrottledPro from

    http://intrarts.com/throttled.html

    The advanced option may need you to find the ports (I haven't used it) used by applications, but those should be easy to find using a simple web search, or by reading the manual.
     
  4. Cattywampus_ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    #4
    Im trying to limit the upload bandwidth for shakespear , a direct connect app. From what I gather the uploads occur on random ports.

    Anyone shed any light on this? Thanks
     
  5. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You can select the ports ("random," but static after you select) - see the active mode configuration information behind a router -- but I'd think you should be able to do this even without being behind a router.

    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc/3._Setting_up
     
  6. Cattywampus_ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    #6

    I have set it to connect through port 45001 - and have forwarded that port to my Mac on my AEBS, but the outgoing connections still spring out on random ports. I see no options to confine them to a select number of ports.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  7. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    See
    http://shakespeer.bzero.se/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=2543
    for a bit more. Also, check out Carrafix described on that page (use Google translate). This may work better for you. Otherwise, you might have to take it up with the developers of shakespeer or one of the throttling programs (to possibly automatically identify ports opened by a program and throttle them). Good luck.
     

Share This Page