Limited Time Machine backups

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jawzzy, Dec 23, 2007.

1. jawzzy macrumors regular

Hey all, I was wondering if it was possible to have Time Machine backup only my home folder (or some other individual folder) without all the system files.

I only have an 80 GB external drive and I would like to have the whole travel-back-in-time effect, but with only a couple of folders.

Unfortunately, there is an "Exclude" option but no "Exclude All But..."

Any solutions?

P.S. Before anyone says it, I cannot afford another drive. Storage is cheap, I know, however, as a poor college student, I cannot afford it. My budget is $0. :)

Many thanks to all!

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

Can't you add everything but the Home folder to the exclude list?

3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

I don't see what's so hard about excluding the contents of /Library and /System.

Time Machine even asks you if you want to do that when you pick them.

4. jawzzy thread starter macrumors regular

Well it seems like there are a lot of files, including invisible ones, that would still be backed up. From where I'm sitting, it looks neither clean nor easy. There is no easy solution?

Also, it seems to be stuck on "Calculating Size" for my system folder. Is something wrong?

5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

If you choose not to backup /System, Time Machine will ask you about not backing up the UNIX a.k.a hidden files as well.

6. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

this is what i have done^^^

its backs up only the home folder plus any third party applications you have installed.

7. jawzzy thread starter macrumors regular

Hmmm...I see. So if I said OK to that prompt and I have it excluding "System Files and Applications" only, what will it include? My Applications folder? Just my "Me" folder? My Desktop?