Limited Time Shell Shocker, 16GB RAM Gskill for $100

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thefizzle657, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. diamond3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
  2. thefizzle657 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #3
    Sorry, I just woke up but my brain is still sleeping!
     
  3. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Wow, now that is a deal. I am very tempted by that even though I would never need 16 gigs of RAM
     
  4. aonarch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #5
    I bought this today! Thanks for sharing. I work in IT and every employee in my department bought two sticks.

    Now I just need a SSD and my MBP will destroy all.
     
  5. chris2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #6
    -_- Wish I got a MBP instead of a MBA.

    One of those refurb quad core MBP 15" + 16GB RAM + an SSD would literally slay.
     
  6. ikm19 macrumors 6502

    ikm19

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  7. backinblack875 macrumors 6502a

    backinblack875

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    will these work with next MBP?? i will be getting the 15in in a year or less. is there any reason these wouldn't work in the next gen MBP??
     
  8. IngerMan macrumors 6502a

    IngerMan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    It's a foolish idea to purchase RAM a year in advance on a next model that you don't even know what the spec's are. Are you kidding us :eek: Such a foolish question :p
     
  9. backinblack875, Mar 14, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012

    backinblack875 macrumors 6502a

    backinblack875

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    why?? apple isn't going to include 16gb as a default, and they wouldn't lower the max amount. its a pretty safe bet. plus this is cheap as dirt

    ----------

    plus wouldn't i be able to use this in my mac mini??? early 2009??!
    EDIT: just found out i couldn't for the mini, only up to 8
     
  10. XMizer, Mar 14, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012

    XMizer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #11
    Do these work with the Macbook for sure?
    My Macbook: Late 2011 15" Macbook.
     
  11. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #12
    More than likely you would unless Apple starts pulling a MBA with the Pros and has non-user removable RAM
     
  12. diamond3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #13
    There no reason to. This will only become cheaper. A few weeks ago the deal was around $120. It not unreasonable to think this won't get to $75 by the time the next one is released. It's never a good Idea to purchase ram in advanced unless you will use it in the next week or two.
     
  13. XMizer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #14
  14. danwayfilms macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #15
    Does anyone know about the quality of this ram? Does it basically perform the same as Crucial memory?
     
  15. backinblack875 macrumors 6502a

    backinblack875

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    good point, i didn't think it would get lower than this
     
  16. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #17
    From some of the prior reports and problems with Crucial by MBP owners, I would be looking for a comparison that is a little more reliable.
     
  17. danwayfilms macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #18
    Okay, could you recommend a brand other than Crucial then? Thanks!
     
  18. IngerMan macrumors 6502a

    IngerMan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #19
    Im running 8GB of Crucial Ram for the last 3 weeks and it passed all the test.

    No problems here, great price.

    1 x ($39.99) Crucial 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Laptop Memory Model CT2KIT51264BC1339

    NewEgg!
     
  19. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #20
    I've been running Crucial 4x4GB in my 2010 iMac and Crucial 2x4GB in my 2011 MBP for the past 3-4 months with no issues:

    Crucial 8GB Kit 2-4GB DDR3-1333 (PC3 10600) SODIMM 204pin CT2CP51264BC1339
     
  20. danwayfilms macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #21
    I always thought Crucial provided good memory. That's why I was slightly surprised that the previous user said it had problems
     
  21. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #22
    I run Crucial in MBP - I have G Skill in iMac and work MBP - works fine.
     
  22. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #23
    Because the next version may have a processor with a higher bus speed, rendering this memory too slow. Not a low possibility either
     
  23. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #24
    Generally it is fine memory, as are lots of other brands. SInce you asked, recently I have mainly used Patriot, but that has nothing to do with reputation, it was just what was on sale and in stock when I was purchasing. My philosophy is if the manufacturer is a well known name, has a good warranty policy they back, and the store purchasing from has a good return policy, I will take the chance and return the item if it doesn't work for me. There have been numerous reports on here with the 16GB Crucial failing memory tests. If I remember correctly the reports were mainly from 17" MBP owners, so this fact could be a big determining factor, but none the less stands.

    Lots report that they have no issues with Crucial, but make sure that they have 16GB sets, as stating that you use brand x and have no problems is not a good measure of quality or reliability of all products from a manufacturer. If one is not using the latest, comparable technology it is not a fair determination of reliability and quality, since processes change, reliability can slip or change with the newer tech processes yielding all past results invalid. Just food for thought.
     

Share This Page