Lines During Action?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mikeyPotg, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. mikeyPotg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #1
    I'm shooting with a Canon HV20 in 24p mode and at times, when theres movement on the screen, I get this blurryness:
    [​IMG]

    Anyone else getting that? Anyone know what it may be from? Its strange, because it seems like sometimes its there when I play it back, and sometimes its not.

    I use compressor to get rid of the pulldown.
     
  2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
  3. AstrayCliche macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Is the motion jerky as well? It looks as though the reverse pulldown was performed out of order with the footage.
     
  4. mikeyPotg thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #4
    The camera movements seem shaky to me but I'm not sure if thats me, the tripod, or the camera. When the camera is still and there is movement on the screen, I dont notice any shakes, just the annoying lines at certain parts. It's strange too, because it doesn't appear during all the moving scenes, only at times.

    I don't think I noticed it like this on the tape prior to editing, but I'll have to look at it again.

    Here's the video, btw. I had a snow day and decided to test out my workflow with all my new equipment. Its hard to notice there, but its around 2:50 into it where I noticed it most as a large file:
    http://vimeo.com/719050

    Here's the 2nd video I did real quick this weekend:
    http://vimeo.com/721184
     
  5. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Those lines are normal for interlaced video, it's how TVs work. But since you're shooting in 24p, progressive, you shouldn't be getting those lines.

    What were your capture settings when you captured the footage? Does your software know it should be 24p?
     
  6. mikeyPotg thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #6
    I used the workflow from here:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306389

    With the exception of using iMovie 06 to import my footage since I can't seem to stop the auto scene breaks when I import with FCP 6. The capture settings on iMovie HD 06 were the standard settings, I didn't change anything with them.
    As soon as I had the footage, I used compressor, with the settings mentioned in the link above.
     
  7. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    Compressor might have screwed up. I'd try it again to see if you get any different results. You might also try JES Deinterlacer if you can't get Compressor to do it properly.


    Lethal
     
  8. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
  9. prs986 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central CA, USA
    #9
    It's because the HV20 records the 24fps footage in a 60i rapper. You have to inverse telecine to get rid of those lines to get true 24p. Use JES Deinterlacer like Leathalwolf said. It offers a great inverse telecine. Then take that footage and import into FCP.
     

Share This Page