Link activity rings to other apps?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by thorpey0, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. thorpey0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #1
    Is it possible to link exercise you do on Strava etc to the apple watch activity rings? I know that Strava links to the Health App but I would like my exercise to show up on the exercise ring of my apple watch.

    Hope that makes sense! Thanks
     
  2. Siilver777 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    This is possible but only on the developer side. The app you use has to fill the activity rings itself.
     
  3. thorpey0 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #3
    Strava activity shows up on the watch in 'Activity' as calories burned but not in the exercise ring. For example it showed I burned 1869 calories during my exercise yesterday but says that I have only done 21 mins activity in the ring...? I just want the activity app to show what I have done in the rings, is this possible?
     
  4. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    Runtastic updates the activity rings (although it's a bit buggy and sometimes doesn't)
     
  5. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
  6. thorpey0 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
  7. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #8
    Yes, this does appear to work in WatchOS 3 and iOS 10.

    I use an aggregator app called RunGap that allows you to add workouts to Apple Health recorded with other devices like my Garmin 520. You can then import them to Apple Health and they show in the activity app and rings. The workouts even show on the watch.

    Hopefully it makes it to the production version.
     
  8. thorpey0 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #9
    Is it worth updating to WatchOS 3 yet? I have the iOS 10 beta running and its fairly stable for me, a few issues that I have reported but otherwise (touching wood) its working well. Am I likely to run into loads of issues if I update to WOS 3?....
     
  9. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #10
    I have had some issues with beta 3. The most serious of which is saved workouts failing to sync to the phone. This has happened twice in the last three workouts. Other than that, it has been pretty stable.
     
  10. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #11
    Having the exact same issue. Anyone found a fix? Don't want to lose my data as I got 400% move goal today thanks to Pokémon GO ;)
     
  11. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #12
    A soft reset of the watch fixed it. Must have been a hiccup between updating them both to the latest beta. During boot of the watch an alert came up on my phone to allow Apple Watch Workouts to access health data.
     

Share This Page