Linking to a wireless n router at g?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by DuckSoup, May 16, 2008.

  1. DuckSoup macrumors 6502a

    DuckSoup

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate Central NY
    #1
    Hey all.

    Here’s my sitch.

    Bought my 32G Touch in March. Bought a G wireless router the same day. All runs smooth :)

    Now, today I am likely to buy an entertainment laptop that can run on wireless N, which means I intend to upgrade to an N router. I seem to recall but cannot find a post here that mentioned someone having a problem trying to get their Touch hooking up to an N router (I know the Touch operates at G maximum). I just assumed that the Touch would connect to the N router G and the N stuff (like my laptop) would at N.

    Will I be able to do this? Or do I have to actually have both routers up and running to support both devices? (which won’t be a problem, only means I can’t sell the G)

    Thanks!

    Mike
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    If your n router has a g compatibility mode than the touch will connect. The n equipment will not be able to connect at full n speeds while a g device is connected to the network, however. If you want/need to connect at full n speeds all the time, bridge the two routers together.
     
  3. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #3
    yup, I would leave you g router and just add a n router for the other stuff, have two networks
     
  4. DuckSoup thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DuckSoup

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate Central NY
    #4
    Coolness! Thanks all :)

    Got another prob I'll post about tonight. (old PC C drive partition crashed, saved CD burns I made via ITunes (was on E partition), but want the new laptop to be host PC for ITunes and Touch. But there's other issues I have to post and ask about (if after a search I am still lost).

    Mike
     
  5. markel253 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #5
    Why? N routers are compatible with g and b ... so why would you run both?

    FWIW - I am running a Netgear N router and have no problems as at all with any G based systems such as my ipod or Wii
     
  6. windowpain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    I think he is running two networks as a 'n' only network is considerably faster than a mixed (g) and (n) network.

    Probably wont see any difference surfing the internet (unless he has very fast connection.) But to and from for example a hard disk attached to an airport extreme the difference is very noticeable. (I would say subjectively its 3 times faster..)

    Sure, you can run a mixed network and it works well, but if you have two routers you might as well run both.
     
  7. markel253 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #7
    I got the impression that he is running a single G network and is about to purchase an N compatible peripheral and wanted to know if he upgraded to an N router would his G compatible "stuff" still work or would he need to run 2 routers.
     
  8. DuckSoup thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DuckSoup

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate Central NY
    #8

    No, that's not what it was. I had thought I read here that if I had an N router and had my Touch hooked up to that N wireless network at the same time (Ipod Touch running at G of course), that it would limit my new laptop (love it!) to running at G also and the only time I could run the laptop at N would be if no G items were hooked up to the N network at the time.

    Anyway, the point and information quest is now moot. I am more than happy - shocked actually - with the great speed the laptop runs on the G network (4G RAM surely a factor), so I have no plants to upgrade to a Wireless N router any time soon.

    So, all is well in Ipod -and, although I have to research this forum on exactly how to move all music for my Touch to the new laptop (further complicated by the fact my desktop O/S drive crashed last weekend), but at least I did have my music files on a hard drive other than the C drive (which also had the ITunes program on it).

    I'm in no hurry on that though, I already have all 400+ of my CDs on the Touch (which amazes me, this being my first Ipod).

    Thanks everyone for the replies!

    Mike
     

Share This Page