Linkseye wireless router password

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by piscies75, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. piscies75 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #1
    my main computer is desktop windows xp set up the router to the lan modem. trying to password protect from my g4 ibook ,( although my internet signal is pretty strong ) contacted Linkseye with no response after acknowledging my inquiry.
    someone suggested:
    Connect the iBook to the internet and then go to sharing in system preferences, click the internet tab, make sure airport is checked then click start. Airport options lets you make a WEP key to make the network secure.


    when I tried this on my ibook it said that It could effect my isp settings and violate the lan agreement with my cable company , your thoughts please.
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    What?? Please construct intelligible sentences, please.

    And by Linkseye do you mean Linksys?

    Are you trying to say that you bought a Linksys router and you want to put a password on it, or something totally different?
     
  3. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #3
    By default, you can type 192.168.1.1 into your browser while wired to the router and the username field can be left blank and the pass word is "admin" without quotes.

    That might help?
     
  4. piscies75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #4
    Linksys

    hi: sorry Crazyeddie your right spelling is important. I am 55 years old, but a mac newbie, your summary of my problem is correct.
    Jack Flash I did what you said on my Dell Windows xp computer , problem is I already had an Identification and a password. Now I am in violation and blocked out of the internet. How do I fix now , that please.
    thanks so much
     
  5. piscies75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #5
    password

    hi talked to a technician at Linksys all matters resolved. I now have a password protect on my computers
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    This is a RTFM moment

    It's important to keep the user manual that comes with a router, and record in it (i suggest the inside front cover) the admin password that you use when you set the router up.

    It's vital to change the administrative password on the router when setting up, or when doing a Reset, as the factory passwords are well known to hackers.

    Each router brand uses a different default internal IP address.
     

Share This Page