Linux and Mac OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Christa Pho, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. Christa Pho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I know boot camp will let you run windows as well as OS X,
    Does anyone see a way to run Linux as well as OS X?
    Or is that just a stupid question to ask?
    :confused:

    And if no,
    In your opinions,
    Should I run Linux or OS X?
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    I do it. I have OS X on an 80 gig partition, linux on a 6 gig partition, and some 20 gigs of unpartitioned space.

    Linux works great (and by great I mean installing it was fine, drivers are crap.. but that's linux for ya ;) ) Eventually I'll work on getting XP installed and then I'll be über-geekness!
     
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    i heard that bootcamp works with some linux distroes too.

    you can always try fusion or parrallel tho

    to use linux or not, your call. doesn't hurt to try some liveCD tho' such as ubuntu 8.04 beta...
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    There really is no point to running Linux on a Mac, since OS X is UNIX based and you can run all your Linux software on it.

    TEG
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    TBO you won't need Boot Camp to install Linux.
    Even for Windows you don't have to run the Boot Camp assistant, as your Mac's EFI has BIOS support.
    You just need to get a HD formatted as FAT32 with MBR option enabled. Once you've done that you can get Win XP (SP2), Win Vista, x86 Linux and x64 Linux on about every Core 2 Duo or later Mac!

    In my case I got Mac OS X, Win XP SP2, and Win Vista SP1 x64 all running!

    The Mac Pro is the best Personal Computer EVAH!!! :):cool:
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    You need bootcamp or some way to partition a hard drive if you're using a portable machine.

    OS X is not Linux. I can't use the gnome or KDE desktop on OS X, I can't get fancy window transitions, and I can't get a cube effect on multiple desktop switching.
     
  7. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    If you want it, check out VirtueDesktops :)
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    You can run any X-Windows system, including CDE, GNOME, and KDE in OSX, you just won't be able to run OSX software with in those window systems. I never said OSX was Linux, I said it was UNIX. With X-11 any of your softw will run just fine.

    TEG
     
  9. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #9
    whoa, that's awesome! I'm gonna have to google that stuff.. wiiiicked
     
  10. cafeganesha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR and San Francisco, CA
    #10
    It's nice to have the capability to run those programs, but in my opinion it sucks having them running in X11. The windows are confusing, and it tends to be really slow in my experience as compared to running them natively in linux.

    I installed Kubuntu on a partition on my iBook and it rocks... gave a new life to my old laptop which had become way lame after I got my new iMac. =)
     
  11. McGiord, Mar 29, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #11
    What Linux software is worth running on a Mac?
    ________
    video reviews
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    alot, many of them aren't available for mac yet

    Not available AFAIK
    K9Copy, backup dvd to 4.5G iso with one click
    Amarok, music player, manager
    mencoder, video encoder/decoder, handle real video
    compiz-fusion
    pidgin
    wine

    available
    avidemux, free avi cutter, jointer, editor
    ffmpeg video encoder/decoder
    crossover
    gimp
     
  13. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #13
    I have an Ubuntu installation through VMWare Fusion. That way, should I need, I can run Ubuntu at the same time as OS X. I haven't had any need for it yet, but it's pretty easy.
     
  14. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #14
    isnt MATLAB just made for Linux and Mac OS X uses it with X11?

    i installed Ubuntu and Fedora in Parallels once. mainly just for curiosity and to see how they run. i found them pretty slow and hard to make the them take up the whole of my 1920x1200 screen. i ended up having to edit the Xorg.conf file which is hardly user friendly for a GUI user. ill stick to Mac OS X.
     
  15. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    paarallels make everything worse than they are.

    I thought MATLab is a windows app?
     
  16. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #16
    windows and Un*x. my lecturer uses MATLAB on his MBP in class using X11. i just use it on the uni PCs as i havent bought it yet. i think MATLAB is native for both Linux and windows but to use it on OS X you have to use X11.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    im currently using Octave which is a free alternative to MATLAB that runs in Terminal. i cant find out how to use it with .m files so i will fork out the cash for MATLAB soon.

    Screencapture 1.jpg
     
  17. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #17
    thanks for the info, I only used R and matlab a little bit in the past, really not an expert, but glad to know at least it works under linux and OSX in some way.
     
  18. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #18
    look into Darwine. Also you can run Gnome or KDE in X11.
     

Share This Page