Lion 10.7 GM broke Vuze

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by RedOne, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. RedOne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #1
    Lion 10.7 GM seems to have broken Vuze. Not completely but I'm only able to upload/download very very slowly.

    This is not a firewall issue as I passed all the Vuze firewall tests successfully and I can connect to peers.

    I'm thinking this is a Java issue. Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. RedOne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #3
    There are some advanced features of Vuze I really like. It's a shame it doesn't work in Lion
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Then wait some weeks for a new release after Lion has been released I guess.
    Have you got the latest version of Java yet? Maybe Apple didn't include it.
     
  5. RedOne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #5
    You are right; most likely I will have to wait.

    Java auto-installs when you launch your first Java application so i assume i have the latest version
     
  6. NameUndecided macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #6
    I think that Transmission is great for myself, but now I'm curious about advanced features in Vuze.

    …looking it up …researching …oh. …that looks nice.


    My only non-constructive comment that I can think of: I'm sure it's not an incompatibility that will last for too long.
     
  7. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    Have you tried loading Java? As far as I know Vuze still relies on Java, and Lion doesn't include it.
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Read Post No. 4 and Post No. 5.
     
  9. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Ah, missed it :eek:. Well, Vuze seems to be running fine. Version 4.6.0.4 with the latest version of Java.

    :confused:
     
  10. solaris8x86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #10
    This is to report that Vuze 4.6.0.X is running fine on Mac Pro 2010 with Lion GM build.:D
     
  11. Kyu2130 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #11
    Vuze

    Solaris how did you get it to work .. I had the dp4 and upgraded to the gm and had a copy of java 10.7 just in case. But I couldn't get it to work.Vuze still refuses to connect properly
     
  12. DribbleCastle macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Issues

    Since upgrading to the GM I am also having problems with Vuze. Most of my torrents simply won't download. They get stuck at ETA calculating infinity. I guess I'll have to try out one of the other apps in the meantime.
     
  13. plu2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #13
    possible solution/alternative

    hey guys...
    after spending the night installing java 10.7 and still not working (because Lion broke Vuze) I have
    just downloaded bit torrent (from bittorrent.com) and have started using that...

    it is not as flashy as vuze (no scheduler or queue function) but it works... and the downloads that I
    have already started with vuze I could "check" and most of the progress was saved and didn't have to start again

    and for some reason... i do not know why but it is actually faster.... just thought i would let everybody know

    by the way if this helped you feel free to post it on other forums... i usually don't post on forums coz i am lazy
    and just take information that is useful to me...
     
  14. SundayDuffer macrumors 6502

    SundayDuffer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
  15. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    For anyone still using this

    I ran it last night and it auto updates to a new version (seems to be a beta version), after updating all is working as good as when i was using Snow Leopard
     
  16. trex67, Jul 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011

    trex67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #16
    New version (Beta) also works for me if I bypass BTGuard. With BTGuard I get very slow speeds and very few to no seeds/peers (e.g. 2 of 40 seeds, 0 of 6 peers.)

    Update: Maybe spoke too soon. Seems to be working fine now.
     

Share This Page