Lion and Appleworks

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Washac, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Hello

    Just to thank Apple for stopping Appleworks from working, now I cannot load any of my bloody documents I have saved.

    Well done Apple good move NOT :( :( :(
     
  2. johnhw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
    It's end-of-life software. Simple as that. They don't care about AppleWorks anymore. I suggest moving to iWork or Microsoft Office.
     
  3. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I think the iWork suite can open some AppleWorks documents.

    If you need the data so bad, you can always revert to Snow Leopard.
     
  4. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #4
    Have to agree, it is 4 years over the support date. I think you are lucky you got it to run that long.
     
  5. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    You can download a 30 day trial of iWork from Apple.

    That's probably your best bet if you're going to stick with Lion. Or go back to Snow Leopard for the Rosetta support.

    What type of Appleworks documents do you have? Do you have database documents you need to open?

    iWork should work fine for everything EXCEPT the database documents.
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    Hello

    Pay Apple £72 for iWorks because they broke the program, get out of here.
     
  7. johnhw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #7
    You could buy the Apps at the Mac App Store individually at $19.99.
     
  8. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    Hello

    Of coarse, sorry, still have to pay for what they broke though.
     
  9. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    Sorry for trying to offer a suggestion.

    Software doesn't last forever. If you want to continue to use Appleworks, you need to go back to Snow Leopard on at least one of your computers.
     
  10. mrchinchilla macrumors 6502

    mrchinchilla

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #10
    Hardly Apple's fault. The last version of Appleworks was released in 2004 – in the world of technology that was generations ago. PowerPC, coincidentally the architecture that very product was developed for, is long-since dead and the mere fact that you still have this software and expect it to run seven years later boggles my mind.
     
  11. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #11
    You say broke, but they didn't break anything. In fact, they stated that Rosetta would not be in Lion (required to run Appleworks) so it was documented and known. You just need to purchase newer software and catch up with the rest of the world. :rolleyes:
     
  12. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #12
    Why do you use a program that is almost 8 years old?
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    "Why do you use a program that is almost 8 years old?"

    Because it still works well, isn't bloated, and does exactly what I need for it to do.

    On the other hand, I find Apple's "AppleWorks replacements" (Pages, Numbers) extremely bloated, slow, and "overfeatured".

    I still use an old version of Microsoft Works (3.0a) with a copyright date of 1993 on it, running under Classic. It's fast, compact, easy-to-use, and has the nicest flat-file database I've ever used.

    1993 may be older than many (if not most) folks reading this posting.

    Microsoft would do well to re-introduce MS Works on the Mac in a 64-bit Intel native format.
     
  14. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    "Just to thank Apple for stopping Appleworks from working, now I cannot load any of my bloody documents I have saved."

    I'd like to offer an alternative course of action.

    It won't be easy, and will have a learning curve.

    You will still be able to run AppleWorks and access those documents in Lion, IF you do the following:
    1. Install SheepShaver (which creates a "Classic Mac" emulator), and then...
    2. Run the "Classic" version of AppleWorks using SheepShaver.

    SheepShaver _does_ run under Lion, but going to warn you up front: it's A BEAR to install and get going. I still haven't got it completely right yet.

    But it does run.....
     
  15. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #15
    Got to post only because it is so funny

    You have got to be kidding ... how could you not have known Lion would not run Appleworks... when I installed it on SL the installer loaded Rosetta(sp)... There is no support for it in Lion... while we are at it lets get pissed at MS for dropping support for DOS I can no longer run VisiCalc...:cool:
     
  16. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #16
    Hello


    iWorks also does not load the .cwk files :( :(
     
  17. stripedsnake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #17
    Dude really - not only is it old software, but you should have done your research before buying Lion. One of the first things said at the keynote was the end of Rosetta. How did you not put 2 and 2 together...
     
  18. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #18
    Hello


    Because I do not watch or listen to keynotes , I am just a humble user not a techie.
     
  19. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #19
    Hello


    OK, do not know what happened there iWorks is now loading the files :)

    Thanks all, and sorry for not being on the ball re that tired old Appleworks prog.
     
  20. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #20
    Why do you upgrade to Lion if Snow Leopard works well?
     

Share This Page