Lion and Quicktime 7

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ResPublica, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. ResPublica macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #1
    Can you still use Quicktime 7 in Lion?
    Does Apple still deliver QT7 as an optional install in Lion, like in Snow Leopard? Or did they remove it?

    Gratias vobis ago,
    res publica
     
  2. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
  3. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #3
    Not only is QT7 still in Lion (it has to be, as QTX doesn't support everything it does yet), it's actually the better option for playing full-screen. Unlike Quicktime Player X, QT7 still does regular full screen, exactly like in Snow Leopard. QTX, for instance, won't do full-screen on a secondary screen.
     
  4. ResPublica thread starter macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #4
    Actually, my experience with full-screen Quicktime 7 (in SL) isn't good. It seems like QT7 always 'choses' just one screen for full screen view, whatever I do. But QT X always takes the screen where it's window is. So if I play a video on my left screen in QT X, then press Command+F, the video always goes full screen on my left screen. In QT 7, it often goes full-screen on my right screen.
     
  5. ResPublica thread starter macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #5
    Thx!
     
  6. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #6
    This is true, but that's because rather than pick whatever screen it's on, it has a selection for this in its preferences. You can set in there what screen to full-screen onto. You can also select it when you do 'Present movie' instead of full-screen (shift-cmd-F instead of cmd-F).
     
  7. ResPublica thread starter macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #7
    Didn't know that! Thanks for the info
     
  8. CSCalciano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Stalkers
    #8
    Latina tua est bona! (Ego sum stultior quam tu because I can't finish this sentence in latin.)
     
  9. kovacm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #9
    how to install ?

    and how to install QuickTime 7 on Lion ??

    .qtz trick does not work anymore !!

    thanx in advance ;)


    btw TRIM in QTX sucks because there is no keyboard shortcuts for markers and beside, QTX ALWAYS re-encode video (lose quality when trimming)!!!
     
  10. Blakeasd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #10
    Double click on a file that needs Quicktime 7 to be opened and you should get a window prompting you to download Quicktime 7.
     
  11. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Yeah that doesn't work anymore and if you have upgraded to Lion from SL where you had QT7 and you install iTunes 10.5 beta it will not work saying it requires different version of QT (not QTX), so i guess updated QT7 is also coming.
     
  12. kovacm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #12
    as Jerome Morrow already said: "that doesn't work anymore" !

    so, how you people: jeanlain, CyBeRino... install QuickTime 7 in Lion ????
     
  13. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #13

    Really? It happened to me. Downloaded a .qtl file and QT7 downloaded and installed.
     
  14. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    can you upload installer somewhere? or point to that file that triggers download?
     
  15. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #15
    It installed via Software Update, I think (or some sort of built-in installer.) It was NASA's stream: http://www.nasa.gov/qtl/151335main_NASA_TV_QT.qtl
     
  16. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    Should be in /Library/Updates at least until next reboot.

    Edit: funny, but it worked with your qtl file (didn't with mine). Thanks.
     
  17. kovacm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #17
    Thanx Cougarcat !! your file initiate QT 7 download !! :)



    btw
    I have some .qtz files on hard disc but new QuickTimeX 10.1 open it without problem now!
     

Share This Page