Lion and Raid error

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 7racer, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. 7racer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #1
    Did anyone get this same message and link to this page?

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4649

    still trying to install on my MacPro. Hopefully it will complete, but it looks like Recovery HD and Filevault doesn't like RAIDs
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    Why would we need an recovery partition (on the same HD as your operating system?) What if the physical drive fails? Isn't a waste of space considering it's like 800Mb or more!!
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    According to the link (very bottom of the page), neither of those features will work with a RAID volume.

    So you'll either have to skip them, or put your files on a single disk to get those features.
     
  4. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #4
    When I read your comment froggy, I don't see bad things, I see relief for not wasting valuable space :)

    If anyone wish to have an recovery partition, stick it on a USB stick using SuperDuper, it'll be way more useful and shareable between multiple systems.
     
  5. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #5
    hmmm doesn't seem to like my Apple Raid card. Even though the link says it should complete the installation, it has gone thru the reboot and install process twice. Right now it's on the spinning apple logo....and just got a Kernal panic.

    in contrast, my Macbook Air installed in about 20 mins.
     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Wait, wait, wait... You telling me Apple's own operating system doesn't support their own hardware??? :rolleyes:
     
  7. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #7
    well duh! LOL....

    seems to be working now.

    Though, after reading about Filevault 2 and RecoveryHD, it seems like these would be nice features to have work.
     
  8. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
  10. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #10
    LOL I know.

    I knew I might have a problem with the Drobo...but didn't with the RAID. I wasn't too worried as I do have a current Time Machine back up.

    Since I have just one large volume, I wonder if Recovery HD didn't actually install? I am going to reboot here in a sec and test it.

    Also, the Filevault process is active and not grayed out despite having RAID...but I don't plan on testing it yet til the Drobo is working again as a TM share.
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    It will be interesting to see if either/both of those features will work with RAID, despite Apple's indication that it won't (wouldn't be the first time that reality and their official position don't coincide, such as what's been officially claimed about graphics cards for example).

    Unfortunately however, since the card has control over the volume, I'd be surprised if FileVault actually works on it (different partition table scheme comes to mind).

    As per FileVault showing up, do you have any single disks installed in the system (attached to a SATA port that's part of the MP)?

    If so, that would likely explain why it's not grayed out.
     
  12. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #12
    I do have an external eSata drive hooked up but currently it is turned off.

    Moving some files over to the MacPro and will try the command-R reboot.

    ps
    thanks for the help a long time ago about SSD and Raids you gave me Nanofrog.
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    I suspect this is why FileVault installed, and hopefully, it will work as you wish.

    :cool: NP. :)

    There's been a few others, so it's hard to recall everyone I've helped or the specific incarnations they have (better when I can put a voice and/or face to it as I can IRL). :eek: :p
     
  14. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #14
    Seems more like Windows everyday. No discs and a recovery partition that will never be used as your HDD usually dies when you need it:confused:
     
  15. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #15
    ahhh just tried command-R twice to get into recovery mode on my MacPro with RAID...No Joy.

    Did it easily on my MBair.

    looks like those with RAIDs will need a bootable USB or something of Lion.

    ok off to install Lion on my final Mac
     
  16. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #16
    This is just another sign of Apple's lack of care for the Mac Pro and the Mac Pro user base these days, a sign of things to come.
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    You can go ahead and give it a shot, but I don't expect it to work (RAID cards don't handle disks the same way as the OS does, so the OS doesn't have control over the disks attached to the card at all).

    This particular issue is too problematic I suspect (RAID cards are proprietary once you're on the card - it's only how it passes data between it and the system that's standardized).
     
  18. 7racer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004

Share This Page