Lion GM problem

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by The13thDoctor, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. The13thDoctor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #1
    Has anybody noticed this at all? Compared to DP4, the Golden Master is a hell lot laggier. So I'm kinda wondering whether this is a widespread problem or I should get a hardware upgrade on my end.
     
  2. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #2
    Is Spotlight indexing? Mine still is but so far it seems 'snappier'. Delighted with this build so far, seems fantastic.
     
  3. The13thDoctor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #3
    No, indexing doesn't seem to be the problem...Every time I load up a document or anything else come to think of it. The beach ball comes up for around a good minute or so.
     
  4. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #4
    I'm using a 2.5 year old machine and the GM's running a lot nicer than the last preview. No beachballing or the like.
     
  5. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #5
    I've tried a few and there doesn't seem to be anything major lag wise. A little, but thats to be expected (in my experience, anyway) during the first few boots of a new install or upgrade, but no, no major lag for me.
     
  6. The13thDoctor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #6
    So I'm guessing 2 GB of RAM isn't sufficient?
     
  7. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  8. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #8
    6 here in a 2009 Quad Core Mac Pro.

    I would like to think thats not the kind of system you need to run Lion mind. :eek:
     
  9. The13thDoctor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #9
    Yeah, but I'm not exactly the richest kid in the world. Legal working age here is like 16....I'm 15 in October.
     
  10. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    Try a clean install before even thinking about getting a new machine.
     
  11. The13thDoctor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #11
    Apparently resetting the PRAM fixed all the lag problem. Thanks for your help anyway.
     
  12. kftrainer, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2011

    kftrainer macrumors regular

    kftrainer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #12
    I have downloaded the GM file but have not installed it yet what is the PRAM and how do I reset it ?
     
  13. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #13
    Apple Support Document
     
  14. Atarikid, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2011

    Atarikid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #14
    That is very unlikely to fix your lag issues. I am almost certain it didn't. Probably something else was going on.

    BTW no offense meant ..
     
  15. Cynicalone, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2011

    Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #15
    I have the GM installed on my late 08 MacBook Air (2,1) with 2GB of RAM and the 1.86Ghz Dual Core, with the SSD.

    It seems to run fairly fast, not lighting quick. 2GB of RAM is the minimum for Lion so that could be the problem.

    In comparison to DP4 this is significantly better.
     
  16. saguakid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #16
    Still I can't wake up my comp using remote apps like log me in,this has not being fixed yet since u can't wake your comp w one touch mouse
     
  17. The13thDoctor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #17
    None taken. Probably it had to do something with the restart or whatnot. Anyway it runs perfectly on my MBP.
     
  18. Atarikid, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2011

    Atarikid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #18
    Well, as all OS X versions, the first two-three runs are slow (Spotlight indexing, boot caches, kernel caches, ...).
    Just delete those caches and you will notice it will take a long time next boot.
    But this is normal behavior.
     

Share This Page