Lion includes built-in recovery tools

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by mk2ja, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. mk2ja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    So, my MacBook wouldn't wake from sleep running Lion beta 1 (old, I know, whatever). So I rebooted it by holding down the power button. This resulted in it getting stuck at the spinning gear several times.

    So I tried to reset PRAM (holding command+option+shift+p+r on boot, yes, I think one of those is extra, but I couldn't remember which). It rebooted and then went into a type of recovery console.

    Screenshots below. Please pardon my poor post - the mac still won't boot, so I'm posting from my iPhone.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    …and my Mac still won't boot. :(
     
  2. Reaktor5 macrumors 6502a

    Reaktor5

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    #2
    This is why you don't install a developer preview on a mission critical computer. I would suggest using the disks your Macbook came with and restoring back to Leopard or Snow Leopard.
     
  3. mk2ja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    No big deal. I have an iMac at my other house that's good to go. I knew this beta was buggy, so there's nothing important in it. I kept it in a state so that it would be no big deal if it went down. The day has come at last.
     
  4. Reaktor5 macrumors 6502a

    Reaktor5

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    #4
    In that case, reformat and update to the Dev Preview 4, it's much more stable.
     
  5. mk2ja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'd been thinking I should go back to SL sometime soon anyway to get ready for the official Lion release. If I can't get it booting again, I'll probably just go that route. I can wait ~5 weeks tops for the GM.

    But the main point of this post was,"Look! There are recovery tools built into Lion!" I didn't have to boot from any other discs to get the screens that came up.
     
  6. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #6
    This is not a secret. This is a well known feature. when you install Lion it creates a recovery partition. This is why they can get away with no physical media in most cases.
     
  7. mk2ja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Oh. Well, I hadn't read anything about it elsewhere. Anyway, just trying to share what I'd learned.
     
  8. macmongral macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #8
    but it don't work yet

    TC restore does

    new copy checks your mac see no. with apple then fails

    yes my copies of Lion are legit

    its the same on both my mac wether from a clean USB stick install or SL upgrade


    it don't work
     
  9. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #9
    To be clear... What didn't work? The "Reinstall OS X" option?

    That's because the OS X installation package is apparently not in the recovery partition. Apparently Apple means for you to download it again if you need to reinstall. (Other threads have gone other the time it would take and bandwidth cap issues.)

    And people wonder why there are many questions on how to get the Lion installation package on to a DVD.
     
  10. macmongral macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #10
    as I said it fails

    it has a fault after it contacts apple then it fails on both mac's with "A error has ocured while preparing the instalation .........."

    yes it is connected to the internet ok

    clean upgrade it makes no odds , as I posted these are legit DL from apple not hooky ones,

    as the installer self deletes itself after a successful install you are sunk at this time but the files in the latest 494e are dated 25/30 last month

    thats all I am prepared to say NDA and all that
     

Share This Page