Lion Licenses question

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by crazy$hark, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. crazy$hark macrumors regular

    crazy$hark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #1
    I heard that when u purchase Lion you can install it on 5 computers. How can I find out how many authorizations i have left?
     
  2. Watabou macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #2
  3. bigshawn0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #3
    How does it work if you get a new computer? I just ordered an iMac, will I be able to install Lion on my wife's MBP?
     
  4. macmongral macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #4
    no

    you have to buy it to install it on another mac
     
  5. luke.mac1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    To be honest, if you authorise your wife's mac using your mac app store login credentials, then you should be able to update it for free as one of your 5 personal computers.

    Check how many authorisations you have left - iTunes -> iTunes home -> Sign in -> Account (under Quick Links) -> You'll see "Apple ID Summary", it's under there... "Computer Authorisations: You have x number of computers authorised to play content with this Apple ID"
     
  6. bigshawn0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #6
    Okay, I'll check it out. Thanks for your help.
     
  7. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    The license that comes with a new Mac is solely for use on that Mac, it can't be used to upgrade another system.
     
  8. richard13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #8
    This is an interesting question and had me confused for a short time as well. If you read the EULA it says that the license is for 1 computer which made me think I had to buy Lion for each Mac I have. But when I went to the App Store it was apparent that I could install it again on my other Mac.
     
  9. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #9
    If you buy it from the App Store, you can install it on any Mac you own. If it has come pre-installed, it can only be used on the Mac it came with.

     
  10. Variant macrumors 6502

    Variant

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #10
    That only works for iLife.
     

Share This Page