Lion/mountain lion doesn't get passed boot

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hexley, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    When I bootup my 2010 13-inch MacBook Pro I am stuck on the bootup screen.

    i went into verbose mode and I got this text and the screen stopped.

    [​IMG]
    Untitled by alabang, on Flickr

    Now, I have extracted the HDD from the Macbook Pro and plugged it into a external enclosure to make a bacup.

    Mavericks is taking almost 10 mins to initialize the HDD and I get the error message below of "OS X can't repair the disk".

    [​IMG]
    Cannot Repair the Disk by 500px.com/dolina, on Flickr

    Would anyone know how to fix this? Can I just do a simply reformat and I can reliably use the HDD again?
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Any disk that OSX flags as "unrepairable" I would never trust again <even> if you managed to get it to boot. Its pretty clear what it means isn't it??
     
  3. disasterdrone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #3
    Yes - trash the disk and restore from a backup.
     
  4. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    Before I reformat the HDD and designate it a dummy HDD for trivial data what else do I copy other than "Users"?

    Application, System & Library are were not added to actively by me since 10.8.x.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    Just clone it (if it will), (I'd use Carbon Copy Cloner), then everything will be as you had it before on the new disk....
     
  6. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6
    I tried copying and 5/6th the way I start getting errors. I press OK and the copy continues. This has happened a few more times until the copy was completed.

    Should I continue with Carbon Copying?

    A bit of a background on this 2010 Macbook Pro. This was largely unused since March 2012 when my iMac arrived and I copied everything to it.

    It gets occasional use since then and I recall not generating much data on it.

    This is why I am not hysterical when I posted. I effectively have another copy of my Macbook Pro that is actively being used in the iMac and on a Time Machine volume.

    Your thoughts are most welcoming.
     
  7. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #7
    In that case probably easier to bin that drive and clone your iMac drive onto the new drive for your MBP...thats what I would do.
     
  8. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #8
    Any way to sort through the "User" folder I copied for files that were altered after March 2012?

    I tried using Spotlight but it keeps giving me everything after March 2012. Even files I personally did not generate.
     

Share This Page